Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2009, 12:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

delta unisaw 220 v


thanks!! in my shop the single receptical 250-230-220 volt.which ever:: that runs welder, compressor ,plasma etc.plug end is the oversized looking 110 garden variety version configuration side by side prongs with the ground underneath garden variety configuration except the prongs are 1 1/4" apart.50 amp breaker, 6 wire from main breaker,all my stuff is perfectly rated for this receptical..now i have a delta unisaw 3 hp motor runs 250 v has a 30 amp plug 6-15r or p.the motor pulls 12.5 amps .??? can i simply wire the same plug on to the cord as the rest of my stuff.??50 amps to high threshold ?could it hurt the machine unisaw?hardwire a higher gauge cord?need a sub breaker??any gerus out there thanks!!!!! duncan


Last edited by duncm; 07-14-2009 at 12:23 AM. Reason: misrepresented the voltage
duncm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 12:25 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 28
Default

delta unisaw 220 v


Yes, you can change the cord cap.

G17GUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 01:05 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

delta unisaw 220 v


Quote:
Originally Posted by duncm View Post
thanks!! in my shop the single receptical 250-230-220 volt.which ever:: that runs welder, compressor ,plasma etc.plug end is the oversized looking 110 garden variety version configuration side by side prongs with the ground underneath garden variety configuration except the prongs are 1 1/4" apart.50 amp breaker, 6 wire from main breaker,all my stuff is perfectly rated for this receptical..now i have a delta unisaw 3 hp motor runs 250 v has a 30 amp plug 6-15r or p.the motor pulls 12.5 amps .??? can i simply wire the same plug on to the cord as the rest of my stuff.??50 amps to high threshold ?could it hurt the machine unisaw?hardwire a higher gauge cord?need a sub breaker??any gerus out there thanks!!!!! duncan
See below comment in a moment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by G17GUY View Post
Yes, you can change the cord cap.
G17guy.,

Now that is very bad advice here.

The unisaw as the OP describing that will need 20 amp circuit and he can not plug into the 6-50R aka welder receptale due diffrent overcurrent protection there and the smaller conductors will need smaller OCPD there.

OP., Do you have this room attached to the house or detached garage the reason why I ask due there is diffrent code requirement.

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 09:38 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

delta unisaw 220 v


my garage shop is separate from house has its own breaker 100 a .the 220 has a home run to the one receptical 6 gauge 50 amp breaker.any way i can multipurpose this 220 ..tone it down to 30 amp breaker without opening pandoras box and still have use of 50 amps for everything and have a 30 amp to protect the saw(2 recepticals/split sub breaker)??? .i am not to worried about the breaker blowing if the compressor goes on by itself when needed .i only intend to run one machine at a time.thanks soo much for any advise.duncan
duncm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:41 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,592
Default

delta unisaw 220 v


According to article 430 (motors) in the codebook, the largest breaker allowed for a 3 HP single phase motor operating at 230 volts is a 45 amp.

If you swap the 50 out for a 40 (or a 45, but that might be hard for a DIYer to find), you'll be fine.

The smallest wire allowed is #12.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 11:16 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

delta unisaw 220 v


Let me expand Micromind's comment realted to the Art 430 that is legit for hardwired motours but if you have cord et plug attachement then it will be throwen out of the " window " it do not meet the critia for this useage.

So something you have to think about when you take a advanage of Art 430 and there are some restrictions in there as I mention above that is the key issue there.

Duncm.,

As Micromind explaining that feature and let me add one more comment with this if the motor do have thermal protection you are good to go otherwise you will have to put in a thermal protection one way or other to prevent the motour burnout especally if you hardwired it and use Art 430

Merci,Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Delta faucet drips KE2KB Plumbing 10 02-28-2012 09:34 AM
Glacier Bay, Peerless, Delta Yoyizit Plumbing 2 03-11-2009 11:20 AM
concrete basement - installing laminate on delta SDG Flooring 1 12-29-2008 08:10 PM
wiring a 220 volt delta unisaw and delta x5 planer naveall Electrical 13 10-30-2008 01:30 PM
Delta table saw blade guard problem RDS Tools 7 03-07-2008 03:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.