Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2010, 03:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

delete switch to control outlet receptacle


not sure i'm asking the right question in the right place here.

what i'm trying to do is remove a toggle switch that controls an outlet receptacle so that i have continuous power to the outlet.

the toggle switch is one of three in the box, thus i'm also having difficulty locating a wall plate that has 2 toggles(on the right) and one blank(on the left).

i was thinking i could eliminate the toggle switch by hardwiring the outlet, then possibly just put the switch back in the box so that it's a dummy switch and doesn't look too shabby.

anyone with do's or don'ts on this please let me know.

thanks in advance!

constantinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 03:36 PM   #2
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 762
Default

delete switch to control outlet receptacle


Most home improvement stores should have modular wall plates. They are assorted plate sections that snap together to form a custom plate. I've used them for exactly this; I installed a three-gang switch box in my garage, and then decided to only add two switches.

McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 03:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

delete switch to control outlet receptacle


oh good to know, i was trying to find a one piece wall plate but a modular plate just might be the solution.

any idea about wiring of the outlet to bypass the switch?
i'm assuming it's just connecting the proper wires and it should be good to go.

thanks again for the response!
constantinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 03:46 PM   #4
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 762
Default

delete switch to control outlet receptacle


Well, your absolute easiest way is just to take the two wires off the screws on the side of the switch, and wirenut them together.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 03:49 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

delete switch to control outlet receptacle


that's exactly what i planned to do.

just wanted to get a little reassurance i was doing the right thing.

thank you kind sir!
constantinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 11:43 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,515
Default

delete switch to control outlet receptacle


Certain rooms are required to have a switch controlled receptacle or lighting outlet. Removing the switch may create a code violation.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New outlet using power from a nearby switch. surecook Electrical 23 10-16-2009 06:27 PM
Half outlet / Half switch tb582 Electrical 3 10-01-2009 08:55 PM
Wiring an Outlet From a Two-Way Switch lburriss Electrical 3 07-07-2009 08:06 PM
Tracing light switch to an outlet allanet Electrical 13 04-03-2009 08:44 AM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.