Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 11:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

"Defective Ground" after getting new digital meter


Hi all. New here....I was using a Fry Daddy cooker on my back porch last night and after letting it heat up for 10 minutes like always, I went to use it and it seemed like it had lost electrical power. I plug it in with an extension cord to an outdoor outlet and have for many years (maybe 6 times a year?)

Now this may not be related to my problem....maybe the Fry Daddy is just worn out. But I went and got my plug-in outlet tester and checked the outlet and got a "defective ground" result. So I started testing outlets in the house and got the same result on every one I tested. About a week ago the power company came and replaced my old meter with one of the new digital ones. Could that have anything to do with this? The home was built as a spec house by the builder and is 12 years old. Never had any problems until now.

Thanks in advance.

ssi6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:01 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,456
Default

"Defective Ground" after getting new digital meter


Defective ground will not cause the Fry daddy to not work. An open neutral will cause the problem. The defective ground could be the result of the meter change.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:28 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

"Defective Ground" after getting new digital meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Defective ground will not cause the Fry daddy to not work. An open neutral will cause the problem. The defective ground could be the result of the meter change.
I haven't done much research on this so I am curious how the meter change would have any affect on the grounding.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:31 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,981
Default

"Defective Ground" after getting new digital meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by ssi6 View Post
Hi all. New here....I was using a Fry Daddy cooker on my back porch last night and after letting it heat up for 10 minutes like always, I went to use it and it seemed like it had lost electrical power. I plug it in with an extension cord to an outdoor outlet and have for many years (maybe 6 times a year?)

Now this may not be related to my problem....maybe the Fry Daddy is just worn out. But I went and got my plug-in outlet tester and checked the outlet and got a "defective ground" result. So I started testing outlets in the house and got the same result on every one I tested. About a week ago the power company came and replaced my old meter with one of the new digital ones. Could that have anything to do with this? The home was built as a spec house by the builder and is 12 years old. Never had any problems until now.

Thanks in advance.
Have you tried plugging something else into the outlet to see if it works, lamp, electric drill, radio ... ?

If nothing else works and this is an outdoor outlet you have big odds that it is a gfci or is gfci protected and the gfci has tripped. Find the gfci and reset it.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:46 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,456
Default

"Defective Ground" after getting new digital meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I haven't done much research on this so I am curious how the meter change would have any affect on the grounding.
Generally pulling and changing the meter should not. However if they happen to bond the neutral and ground at the meter in this location then maybe somehow the bond got removed. Maybe it shouldn't have been bonded in the meter and the installer removed the bond thinking it was already done in the panel.

Maybe it is a coincidence and i t has nothing to do with the meter. The first thing to do would be to open and inspect the panel. Since it seems to be the whole house I suspect the main bond connection.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 10:23 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

"Defective Ground" after getting new digital meter


All outlets work fine. I just worry this is a safety issue now.

I just called the power company and they are going to have someone come out or call me. They said too the meter change shouldn't have caused this but it had to. Nothing else has changed.

Thanks all. I will update whenever they come.
ssi6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:03 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Default

"Defective Ground" after getting new digital meter


False alarm I suppose. I remembered this tester I have (A. W. Sperry "Stop Shock") was probably 10 years old. Although I've taken good care of it and it still looks new, I wondered if it was bad. So I ran up to Lowe's and picked up another one. When I got home, the power company was here. He checked the new meter setup and said it was good. So I opened the new tester and tried it and sure enough, I got "Correct" readings on this one. So I guess my old one is bad.

I'm surprised it could give incorrect readings like that. It's just a plastic shell with 3 led's and a few wires.

Thanks for the help all.

ssi6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GB GCM-221 Digital Clamp Meter Greenie Electrical 52 02-04-2012 10:14 AM
Meter Main problem. right-sided meter? acerunner Electrical 6 07-23-2011 12:41 PM
Possible Defective or Incorrect Electrical Meter? MorganB Electrical 10 01-18-2011 09:51 AM
Water meter aggravations KE2KB Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 06:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.