Dedicated Circuits For ACs - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 09:17 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Dedicated circuits for ACs


Hello:

I have 3 wall AC units and 3 dedicated lines for each. One line is 20A and the other 2 are 15A lines. My question is should the 15A dedicated lines have single receptacles like the 20A line. They currently have duplex receptacles.

Thanks!

Advertisement

zephed666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:25 AM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Dedicated circuits for ACs


Quote:
Originally Posted by zephed666 View Post
Hello:

I have 3 wall AC units and 3 dedicated lines for each. One line is 20A and the other 2 are 15A lines. My question is should the 15A dedicated lines have single receptacles like the 20A line. They currently have duplex receptacles.

Thanks!
What is the current rating of the two 120V 15A units? Should be on a tag close to where the power cord attaches. I would put in a single receptacle just to prevent anything else from using the circuit.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:32 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Dedicated circuits for ACs


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
What is the current rating of the two 120V 15A units? Should be on a tag close to where the power cord attaches. I would put in a single receptacle just to prevent anything else from using the circuit.

We never plug anything else into the outlets. Just curious if it is necessary. I was under the impression a 20A dedicated line needs to be a single receptacle according to code. Just wondering if the 15A line needs to be as well. I am not an electrician so I do not know...
zephed666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:45 AM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Dedicated circuits for ACs


As long as the AC load doesn't exceed 80% of the circuit capacity you are fine.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:54 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Dedicated circuits for ACs


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
As long as the AC load doesn't exceed 80% of the circuit capacity you are fine.
Is the 20A single required by code? Just curious now.
zephed666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 10:01 AM   #6
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

Dedicated circuits for ACs


In the case of branch circuits that supply only receptacles, it's only considered a dedicated line (individual branch circuit) if the receptacle is a single receptacle. A duplex is 2 receptacles. Once a duplex is installed, it's no longer a dedicated circuit, even though nothing else is supplied by that circuit.

As Corsair said, if you don't exceed 80% (12 amps) you're ok.

Advertisement

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
short circuit. reset the breaker, but no power bp91708 Electrical 10 03-18-2011 11:07 AM
Need a bunch of dedicated circuits in one area Red Squirrel Electrical 9 01-15-2011 05:17 PM
Dedicated circuits in the home? viper Electrical 18 10-01-2010 04:20 PM
AFCIs/GFCIs for dedicated appliance circuits tigereye Electrical 5 12-02-2009 12:17 PM
15A receptacle circuits in kitchen _in addition to_ 2x 20A? WaldenL Electrical 4 09-18-2009 05:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts