Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2011, 04:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 62
Share |
Default

Dedicated Circuit


I'm installing a whirlpool type tub that requires two 15a GFCI protected circuits. One for the pump and one for the heater. I want to use blank faced GFCI outlet that will be located in an adjacent closet.
-Can both of these circuits enter a common 2 gang outlet box and get wired to a split receptacle since both circuits are running to the same location if all wires are kept separate besides the ground?
-Is there a problem in running electrical cable past plumbing lines?

Thanks

RalphPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 04:58 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,787
Default

Dedicated Circuit


You will need separate GFCIs for each circuit.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 62
Default

Dedicated Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
You will need separate GFCIs for each circuit.
Yes I plan on using two two blank faced GFCI's. Can they be mounted in a two gang box, same thing with the outlet box?
RalphPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:01 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Dedicated Circuit


To answer the OP, YES!

You can mount both blank-faced GFCI units in a 2-gang box, and then feed a split-wired outlet under the tub.

Be sure to remove both interconnection tabs on the split-wired outlet.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:03 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 62
Default

Dedicated Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
To answer the OP, YES!

You can mount both blank-faced GFCI units in a 2-gang box, and then feed a split-wired outlet under the tub.

Be sure to remove both interconnection tabs on the split-wired outlet.
OK Thanks.
So no problem with plumbing lines and electrical cable?
RalphPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:05 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

Dedicated Circuit


If you do this you will need to bring 2 two wire cables to the plug and break off each side of the plug. If you run a 3 wire you will have nuiance tripping of the GFI.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:06 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Dedicated Circuit


I'd use a 4-wire cable. Do that have that available in Canada?

As long as you don't install the wires inside of those plumbing pipes, you should be good to go.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:11 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 62
Default

Dedicated Circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
I'd use a 4-wire cable. Do that have that available in Canada?

As long as you don't install the wires inside of those plumbing pipes, you should be good to go.
I was planning on running two 14-2 cables but if I can run just one cable from the breaker box it makes it a lot easier.
RalphPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:31 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

Dedicated Circuit


You can use a 14/3 from the panel to the GFCI as long as you pigtail the neutral at them. From the GFI you will need two 14/2 to the plug. I have never seen 4 wire lomex but you can get 4 wire BX, if you get 4 wire BX techincally you would have to derate because you have more then 3 current carrying conductors. So for a 15A breaker you would have to use 12/4.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 06:22 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Dedicated Circuit


The easiest way to do this is, run 2 separate 14/2 , always a good
Idea not to share neutral when running two motors, put the GFI's at the panel (easy to reset if GFI trips) then run your individual 14/2 to regular plugs near your tub or wherever u were going to put them. Keeping the motors separate, by running 2-14/2's is good if there's ever a problem with either the pump or heater, easy to figure out which is having trouble if it was to have own feed
Jeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 08:49 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ridgewood NJ
Posts: 10
Default

Dedicated Circuit


I have to agree with brric depending on the draw of the tub and the heater I would have a seperate GFI for each one and each would be a 20 amp line right under the tub with an accessible door.
SPINA ELECTRIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 04:21 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 62
Default

Dedicated Circuit


It seems that all faceless GFCI's are rated at 20 amp. Is that OK on a 15 amp circuit?

http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/ibeCC...minisite=10026


Specs say :

General Information
GFCI ratings:
15A-125V AC - Cat No. 7599 Duplex
Receptacle
20A-125V AC - Cat. No. 7590 Faceless
20A-125V AC - Cat. No. 7899 Duplex
Receptacle
All devices rated 20A feed-through
RalphPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 04:34 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,787
Default

Dedicated Circuit


No problem.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 05:14 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 62
Default

Dedicated Circuit


Thanks

RalphPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dedicated circuit for table saw MeanGene Electrical 6 11-03-2010 08:31 PM
Planning circuit layout for barn tbeaulieu Electrical 8 04-08-2010 09:38 AM
Moving a Fridge, is a dedicated circuit required...or not? Snowy334 Electrical 7 07-03-2009 12:36 PM
Dedicated 20amp circuit chingon Electrical 1 03-31-2009 06:36 PM
Circuit advice for finishing basement Straightgrain Electrical 16 03-25-2009 09:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.