Dedicated Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2012, 08:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dedicated circuit


I had intentions of installing a 20 amp circuit. It was simple enough I thought; just connect the neutral wire to the neutral bar, and the ground to the ground bar, and the hot to the breaker.... When I removed the cover, I couldn't tell which was the ground bar or which was the neutral. The box had neutral wires and ground wires attached to the same bar on both sides. Now I am confused. Can I attach the neutral, and the ground wires to the same bar?

Thanks,
lch

Advertisement

lchenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 09:04 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Dedicated circuit


If it's the main panel and both of the bars are supposed to be bonded together.

I still like to keep neutrals and grounds separate even though the bars are bonded.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 09:39 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 243
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Dedicated circuit


You're fine connecting both to the same bar. Yes, it is better to keep them separated, but you'll be fine connecting the 2 to the same bar.

Last edited by matt151617; 02-25-2012 at 09:48 AM.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to matt151617 For This Useful Post:
lchenderson (02-25-2012)
Old 02-25-2012, 09:45 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dedicated circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
If it's the main panel and both of the bars are supposed to be bonded together.

I still like to keep neutrals and grounds separate even though the bars are bonded.
Thank you for your reply. It is the main panel. Because it is the way it is, I assume it was meant to be bonded??
lchenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 09:55 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,017
Rewards Points: 2,832
Default

Dedicated circuit


The neutral buss is required to be bonded in the service panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
lchenderson (02-25-2012)
Old 02-25-2012, 10:54 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dedicated circuit


Thanks Jim. That eases this novice's mind...
lchenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 11:03 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dedicated circuit


Thanks Matt
lchenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:00 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,962
Rewards Points: 2,320
Default

Dedicated circuit


Remember that the ground wire can usually be 2 under one screw, but the white wires can have one under each screw.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 05:36 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dedicated circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
If it's the main panel and both of the bars are supposed to be bonded together.

I still like to keep neutrals and grounds separate even though the bars are bonded.
Yes.
I suppose that the current capacity of the bonding method is the same or better than each busbar's capacity.

Advertisement

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dedicated circuit for gas stove & hood? acerunner Electrical 3 09-30-2011 06:58 PM
Why a dedicated line? tmorriss Electrical 16 02-22-2011 08:53 PM
Moving a Fridge, is a dedicated circuit required...or not? Snowy334 Electrical 7 07-03-2009 01:36 PM
Dedicated 20amp circuit chingon Electrical 1 03-31-2009 07:36 PM
Circuit advice for finishing basement Straightgrain Electrical 16 03-25-2009 10:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts