Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2013, 09:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


I have now read what seems like a ton of posts on this subject - but none matching mine. I want to start at my panel (I have a spare 20 amp available) run it up into my attic, out the attic, down the wall into buried conduit and to the outlet. It is a plug-in spa.

Everything I read says that THWN is required for the conduit - but I can not find it anywhere. Then, I am told that there should be no splicing - making a single uninterrupted run from panel to outlet. So this would require 12-2 separate strands from panel to spa - so, I assume the stands must be in conduit in the attic? But now we are talking about 5 90 degree turns - not sure this is mathematically possible.

What am I missing (and, more importantly where can I find 100' spools of black, white and red 12 THWN???? My original thought was to run MC 12-2 through attic to 90 or box, splice this to THWN (if I can find it) and run that through sch 80 PVC (buried)to the outlet.

Finally, since no one (Home Depot, Lowes, Orchard, Ace) carries THWN, what is everyone else doing!?

Thanks.

00don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 09:52 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,682
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by 00don View Post
I want to start at my panel then run it up into my attic, out the attic, down the wall into buried conduit and to the outlet.
Is that truly the most direct path between the two points?
btw... what is behind the wall nearest the tub location?

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 09:57 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


I believe it is. Though new, my house and yard are small (common for SF Bay Area). The pad for my spa is at the backyard back wall (only about 15 feet from the house). Panel is in garage located at front of house. Entire run will be less than 40 ft. straight line - add 3 feet from panel into attic and 10 feet from eve to ground.
00don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 09:58 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


The back wall of the house is master bedroom and family room.
00don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 11:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,660
Rewards Points: 1,196
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


Quote:
Finally, since no one (Home Depot, Lowes, Orchard, Ace) carries THWN,
Next time you go there, ask to look at their THHN. Read the markings on the insulation. I'll guarantee that the wire at Lowes and Home Depot carry both the THHN and THWN-2 ratings. I would bet that Orchard and Ace do too.

Where does it say that you can't splice spa wiring ? Ask for a code reference.

Quote:
where can I find 100' spools of black, white and red 12
They may not carry spools. But you can get it cut to length. Why are you not looking for green ? Did you for get the ground ?
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (07-08-2013)
Old 07-07-2013, 11:30 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954
Next time you go there, ask to look at their THHN. Read the markings on the insulation. I'll guarantee that the wire at Lowes and Home Depot carry both the THHN and THWN-2 ratings. I would bet that Orchard and Ace do too.

Where does it say that you can't splice spa wiring ? Ask for a code reference.

They may not carry spools. But you can get it cut to length. Why are you not looking for green ? Did you for get the ground ?
Agree.
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 11:36 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


I meant green - not red. I will check again for the wire with twin rating.

As to the no-splice, it was a guy at Ace. So, what about my idea? Remove the MC from 12-2 to allow that portion to run in conduit to the panel (or run the MC to the panel. The MC would run through the attic to the eve and it would there splice to the single strand blk/wht/grn THWN-2 rated wire in the 90 degree connector - then through the down run and baried sch 80 PVC to the GFI outlet?
00don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:41 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


Assuming there will be an LB where it run exits the structure, then conduit from the LB to the hot tub, correct? Cable in the structure, spliced in the LB to the wires that run through the conduit.
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:23 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


Sorry, not sure what "LB" is - but if you mean a box, yes that is the plan. I know that any and all splices must occur in a box.
00don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 03:10 PM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,133
Rewards Points: 2,176
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Assuming there will be an LB where it run exits the structure, then conduit from the LB to the hot tub, correct? Cable in the structure, spliced in the LB to the wires that run through the conduit.
Most LB fittings are not marked with cubic inch size and are not suitable as junction boxes. Use an approved junction box.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (07-08-2013), Jim Port (07-08-2013)
Old 07-08-2013, 03:39 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 736
Rewards Points: 536
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


You can order 100' spools of #12 at HomeDepot. It's dual rated, THHN and THWN-2 check the specs:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Southwire...6#.UdsjOqxGSho
AandPDan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:34 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dedicated 110 20amp run for hot tub


Vince, thanks! I will use an outdoor junction box under the eve and do the connection there.

00don is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Downgrage 20amp to 15amp yonkoc Electrical 26 04-05-2012 08:56 PM
Question about 20amp outlet for my refrigerator Penguinfan Electrical 6 04-04-2012 07:36 AM
Home Theater Dedicated Circuit rjschwar Electrical 20 12-16-2009 12:42 PM
Dedicated 20amp circuit chingon Electrical 1 03-31-2009 06:36 PM
Dedicated outlet/receptacle drtpdee Electrical 9 01-03-2008 01:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.