Debugging New 220 Circuit & Receptacles - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2010, 01:49 AM   #1
girl w/ power tools
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: California
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Debugging new 220 circuit & receptacles


I wired a new 220 circuit on a double pole 20a breaker and ran cable (12/2 Romex) to two new duplex 220v receptacles.

The black and white wires are hot according to a non-contact tester. However, when I test the receptacles with a solenoid volt meter, I get no reading at all. I used the meter to test a known-good 110 outlet and it registered the voltage correctly.

It's such a simple circuit, I'm stumped--suggestions as to what I should try next to figure out why receptacle isn't showing any voltage? Should I be using a multimeter or...???

Advertisement

jodic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 03:31 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Debugging new 220 circuit & receptacles


An actual electrician will probably come along with better advice, but in the meantime, did you possibly use a half size two pole breaker? If so, you may have both wires on the same hot leg.

To confirm the non contact test, use your solenoid tester at the receptacle, from each wire to ground, to see if both wires are hot.

Gary

Advertisement

Gary Sutherland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 06:13 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Debugging new 220 circuit & receptacles


If you used a piggy-back (tandem type) breaker, it won't work. You need a full-size double-pole breaker. Look at the bottom of the breaker: Does it have one, or two places where it stabs into the panel?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 06:56 AM   #4
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,545
Rewards Points: 2,070
Default

Debugging new 220 circuit & receptacles


Here is a Pic showing the difference.

Note that the Twin Breaker is the same width as the common single pole breakers.

The 2 Pole Breaker is twice as wide as the single pole

.
Attached Thumbnails
Debugging new 220 circuit & receptacles-squared-1p-breaker.jpg   Debugging new 220 circuit & receptacles-squared-2p-breaker.jpg  
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 12:02 AM   #5
girl w/ power tools
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: California
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Debugging new 220 circuit & receptacles


Thanks, that was it. I used a tandem single pole breaker instead of the correct double pole.
jodic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 04:34 PM
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 04:25 PM
Is this correct regarding 20amp circuit and 15amp receptacles diymonkey Electrical 17 07-26-2009 07:57 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
4-way circuit with 9 duplex receptacles crecore Electrical 7 09-01-2006 10:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts