Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2013, 07:33 PM   #61
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Share |
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


If it were you, what sort of thing would you be looking for, I do appreciate all input and information just in case I have this problem again.

rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 08:58 AM   #62
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyjoseph701 View Post
If it were you, what sort of thing would you be looking for, I do appreciate all input and information just in case I have this problem again.
Look for loose wires, start at the receptacle that is still working. If the wires are backstabbed, remove them and attach to the screws. Do this with the breaker OFF.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HouseHelper For This Useful Post:
rickyjoseph701 (05-07-2013)
Old 05-07-2013, 10:45 AM   #63
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Thanks , I'll try that in a few minutes, maybe this will be the end of the problem. Will let you know, later. 2 checked and no loose wires, some a bit corroded, only 1 (had the wires backstabbed, the working 1) .

Last edited by rickyjoseph701; 05-07-2013 at 02:34 PM.
rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 02:43 PM   #64
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


To continue troubleshooting this, you will need a multimeter. The little neon tester will not give the answers we need?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-07-2013), rickyjoseph701 (05-07-2013)
Old 05-07-2013, 05:39 PM   #65
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


I have a multimeter, not sure how to read it, but with help I will figure it out. It is not a digital one . Checked another outlet, no loose wires and they are screwed to the side .
I have pics if anyone is interested in seeing what I am dealing with, this was suggested last night in a post.

Last edited by rickyjoseph701; 05-07-2013 at 09:32 PM.
rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 06:57 AM   #66
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


We will start from the beginning!
Post a pic or type meter you have.
Determine the breakers or fuses which provide power to the shed.
Tell us if it is a single or 2 pole breaker.
Make sure that you turn any and all breakers to the off position, then turn back on to make sure you did not trip one.
You said something about a fuse earlier, tell us more about the fuse and what it controls.
What type of wiring is in place, ie, conduit, romex, bx.

Try these things and answer the questions, and we will head to the next step.

Have patience, as sometime it takes a while to get back for a follow up.
Post any and all Q&A in the thread in case some one has a followup.

We will get you through this!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-08-2013), rickyjoseph701 (05-09-2013)
Old 05-08-2013, 09:45 AM   #67
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


it a single pole with romex wiring and the multimeter I have is an analogue (A.W. Sperry Sp-5A. )
The fuse I was talking about is a plug fuse that runs another shed with I a separate box.Not sure how to post pictures on this site otherwise I would . Thanks again for your help.
There are 5 outlets with 4 single breakers (that are not marked). I have identified 2 of the 4 , one is to the light and 1 is to the working outlet, so in my thinking, it appears to me that 2 outlets are on the same circuit. Is this an assumable thought, but then why would the outlet that sparked (to start this off) have power to it and the others don't?? I have checked everything you asked for and I think I have answered it all. I have turned all breakers off and then turned them back on again, in fact several times. 1 of the breakers switch feels as though it does not have the "strong snap" when you turn it off and on, could that be the problem? I have answered all of the questions to the best of my ability, I hope this helps you help me.

Last edited by rickyjoseph701; 05-09-2013 at 06:20 PM.
rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 01:52 PM   #68
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


I took a little vacation and when I came back, I thought I would have some other "hints on what to do" but nothing , so I guess I will be going tis "solo" from here on in as it doesn't appear as though some do not want to help out, just my opinion.
Thanks! Reply if you deem it necessary.I am willing to hear any suggestions in order to get my electricity back.
rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 02:27 PM   #69
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 192
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyjoseph701 View Post
I took a little vacation and when I came back, I thought I would have some other "hints on what to do" but nothing , so I guess I will be going tis "solo" from here on in as it doesn't appear as though some do not want to help out, just my opinion.
Thanks! Reply if you deem it necessary.I am willing to hear any suggestions in order to get my electricity back.
Hire an electrician. It seems like you're having more problems than you can solve on your own.
mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mm11 For This Useful Post:
rickyjoseph701 (05-14-2013)
Old 05-14-2013, 03:45 PM   #70
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 497
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyjoseph701 View Post
k
I have turned all breakers off and then turned them back on again, in fact several times. 1 of the breakers switch feels as though it does not have the "strong snap" when you turn it off and on, could that be the problem? If the breaker "soft" feeling and doesn't "snap", you could have a dead short somewhere in that circuit.
Now if the whining could stop, and if you actually did the things people posted, you might get somewhere. Post pics of the breaker or breakers that feed the shed. This is the beginning of the circuit and this is where you should begin.
__________________
Pugsy

My project: http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/bunga...-build-169318/
123pugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 04:11 PM   #71
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Just for everyone's information, I went out and figured out the problem and Now everything is working JUST FINE!!!!!
Thanks to everyone that had given me insight and possible solutions to the problem. It was nice being part of this group, now maybe I can get off and everyone can help someone else.
rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 04:46 PM   #72
MEASURE ONCE, CUT TWICE
 
123pugsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: MARKHAM, ON
Posts: 497
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyjoseph701 View Post
Just for everyone's information, I went out and figured out the problem and Now everything is working JUST FINE!!!!!
Thanks to everyone that had given me insight and possible solutions to the problem. It was nice being part of this group, now maybe I can get off and everyone can help someone else.
Everyone was nice enough to try to help and you don't even post the solution?

Glad you care enough about the next guy with a similar problem.
__________________
Pugsy

My project: http://www.diychatroom.com/f49/bunga...-build-169318/
123pugsy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 123pugsy For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-14-2013), rickyjoseph701 (05-14-2013)
Old 05-14-2013, 05:00 PM   #73
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


I forgot to mention the cause, I had a broken circuit breaker and some of the wires (were not making a good connection., but the outlets that were "back stabbed " are now connected on the sides.
Once again Thanks!

rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rickyjoseph701 For This Useful Post:
123pugsy (05-14-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE Panel - Breakers - Tandem or Slim? TBrown1 Electrical 12 06-05-2012 07:42 PM
How can a buss have breakers not hot? James K Electrical 16 02-10-2012 04:14 PM
Duplex circuit breakers wavewuver Electrical 9 12-17-2011 10:12 AM
Subpanels & cutler hammer arc fault breakers MoreCowbell Electrical 13 04-04-2008 10:19 PM
Zinsco breaker boxes and breakers. evosounds Electrical 3 07-29-2007 06:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.