Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2013, 05:56 PM   #16
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,399
Share |
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Get yourself a two wire electrical tester---a $4 neon tester will do----when you have one come back and someone will tell you what to test.

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:06 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


I have one sitting right here next to me >Thank you very much. I thought this was a diy to help someone,that does not know how or what to do!!! Sorry for any inconvenience that I may have caused. I am sure someone else out there may be having the same problems, but are to afraid to ask.!!!!!!!!!
rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:14 PM   #18
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,399
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


I'll offer a few suggestions---I suggest you pull the cover off of the breaker box and see if the breakers have power---

touch the probe to the colored wire attached to the breaker and the other probe to the box or the neutral bar (the one that the white wires are touching)---

No sence checking the outlets if the breaker has no power.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:17 PM   #19
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,252
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by rickyjoseph701 View Post
I thought this was a diy to help someone,that does not know how or what to do!!! Sorry for any inconvenience that I may have caused. I am sure someone else out there may be having the same problems, but are to afraid to ask.!!!!!!!!!
Well that's a twist....it's hard to read "tone" in text, so maybe I'm reading more into that than I should be, but WOW.

Don't think anyone was inconvenienced. If we didn't want to be here, we wouldn't be.
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
jbfan (05-04-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (05-06-2013)
Old 05-04-2013, 06:19 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Either way , wouldn't I have to change the receptacle where it sparked and also why would I not have power to the breaker box before the spark and nothing after the spark when it happened at the receptacle????
rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:22 PM   #21
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,399
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


I'm not inconvenienced--just trying to help---

with electrical failure I always start at the source---one thing to remember---the outlet might have power but no neutral--so do not get careless ----

That is why you need a two wire tester----look for good power and neutral.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:30 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Maybe I am dumb and stupid, but I can't see why it would spark at the outlet if there was no power at the box. I'm confused.Maybe I should leave it to professional help and pay them big bucks to do it . I'm disappointed.
To all who have given me information and tried to explain it to me I would like to say Thank You, and once again, I hope that I have not become a nuisance to your group and have not inconvenienced any in any fashion or matter.

Last edited by rickyjoseph701; 05-04-2013 at 06:38 PM.
rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 06:36 PM   #23
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,399
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Disappointed in what?

Have you tested the breaker? You actually have two that control that out building---

the one in the out building and the one it is fed by in the house.

If you don't do the work while we analyze the results--then ,by all means, hire a pro to do the testing.

Here the pros are willing to help someone ready to follow directions.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 07:05 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


The wire that runs to the box also goes to the meter.If I have power ever place else, then I have power to the shed, is that right. Then the wire coming out of the box is going to the outlets of which there are 5. They were all working fine with power strips. I plugged in a drill to one of them and it stopped working. I unplugged everything and plugged it in and that is when the receptacle sparked and the power went out on all of the outlets. There is a ceiling light that is still working when I turn it on. That is why I am seeking help and assistance in this matter. The main box has 4 circuit breakers 1 is for the light, and the other 3 are not marked as to which one controls which outlet.
rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 07:27 PM   #25
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,399
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


I understand that---have you tested the breakers yet?
Have you tested all outlets for power and working neutral?
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 07:30 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Yes, I have checked all outlets and there is NO Power to them, I am not sure how to check for nuetral
rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 07:40 PM   #27
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,399
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


If no power is getting to the wires feeding the outlets--then see if power is at the breakers--


If they are all powered let us know.
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 07:41 PM   #28
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,399
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


When you checked the outlets ,did you check the wires or insert the probes into the slots?
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 07:43 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


If you are super moderator, go ahead and take me off this site, you are getting frustrated and so am I , I will figure it out some how, maybe professionall or I can go on with out any power in there.
rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 07:48 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 38
Default

dead receptacles/circuit breakers


Both, I only checked the wires in the back of the outlet that sparked. I did insert the probes in to all of the other outlets. How do you check for working neutral?

rickyjoseph701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE Panel - Breakers - Tandem or Slim? TBrown1 Electrical 12 06-05-2012 07:42 PM
How can a buss have breakers not hot? James K Electrical 16 02-10-2012 04:14 PM
Duplex circuit breakers wavewuver Electrical 9 12-17-2011 10:12 AM
Subpanels & cutler hammer arc fault breakers MoreCowbell Electrical 13 04-04-2008 10:19 PM
Zinsco breaker boxes and breakers. evosounds Electrical 3 07-29-2007 06:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.