Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2010, 06:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

dead outlets


I have 3 kitchen outlets and 1 bathroom outlet on same circuit. One day the whole circuit quit working. the only appliance going was the fridge. I checked the breaker(20amp). It wasnt blown. I reset it anyway. No luck. I have replaced all 4 outlets, none of the old ones showed any signs of burns or other issues. all were attached to screws. I also replaced the 20 amp circuit breaker. All are still dead. I would appreciate any suggestions.
thanks

mdmapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 07:00 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

dead outlets


do you have some means to check voltage?

and when was your house built?. Wiring as it is is against current National Electrical Codes.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 07:09 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,374
Default

dead outlets


Look for a tipped GFCI in the garage.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 08:06 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Default

dead outlets


house is older. i have a voltmeter but dont know how 2 use it.

also garage is seperate circuit with no gfci's
mdmapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 08:12 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

dead outlets


ok, what kind of voltmeter do you have?

are you comfortable being around live electricity such as having a receptacle hanging out of a wall while energized or checking the voltage on an energized breaker?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 07:40 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,861
Default

dead outlets


A wire fracturing inside of its insulation is not unheard of. The wire ends exposed in the box can take only so much flexing as a switch or receptacle is replaced. You would need to be skilled in the use of a voltmeter and an ohmmeter (or continuity tester) to find such a break.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 01:30 PM   #7
Totally screwed together
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cypress, SoCal
Posts: 325
Default

dead outlets


Look under your sink for a GCFI for the wishwasher/ garbage disposal.

xxPaulCPxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Dead Outlets & Lights JnWaco Electrical 14 03-03-2009 11:08 AM
Power leading to outlets but no power ? s_anthony Electrical 22 01-05-2009 01:08 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.