Dead Outlet And Switches On Otherwise Live Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2007, 08:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dead outlet and switches on otherwise live circuit


Hi folks--

You guys have been a great help as I move up the learning curve on this DIY electrical stuff. Here's my next dilemma with this older house. I have a 15A circuit that holds a couple receptacles and a two-pole switch. The cable for this circuit is the older two-wire (no ground) variety. When I was replacing the older receptacles and switches (which were painted over and very dirty) I noticed that one of the receptacles is dead. Even when there is power to the other receptacle, there is nothing on this other one. When I went to the two-pole switch, I noticed that there were four cables going into the box. Two of those four cables going into the switch box are also dead.

How do I deal with this? How are these cables dead when the other cables within this same circuit are fine?

Advertisement

viking1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2007, 11:23 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Dead outlet and switches on otherwise live circuit


Is the wire in the switch the same wire that is at the plug if so that would explain why your plug does not work.

Advertisement

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 12:20 AM   #3
Rze
Average Joe
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 54
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Dead outlet and switches on otherwise live circuit


I helped my brother with a somewhat similar situation. After trouble shooting for a few minute, found tha the nuetral wire had broken just up the line from one of the outlets in series. Not uncommon with older houses.
Rze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2007, 11:45 PM   #4
Cabinet Installer
 
Dansbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Medford OR
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Dead outlet and switches on otherwise live circuit


Is the switch controlling power to the outlet or is there a light it controls?
__________________
Daniel S. Bell
Belbuilt, LLC
Cabinet Installation Medford, Oregon
http://www.belbuilt.com
Dansbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 06:30 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dead outlet and switches on otherwise live circuit


OK, its about time I fess up what was the ultimate resolution....

I called an electrician to look at this issue and my larger problem with running a dedicated circuit to my pool pump and engine. He immediately fixed the dead outlet and switch problem. What was the fix? Well, it turned out the outlet (both receptacles on the outlet) were controlled by one of switches on the two-pole switch. When I was checking the power to the outlet, the switch was turned off --- therefore, no power to the plug. After checking the wires to the plug, I ultimately decided to leave them unconnected and moved on to the switch. When I checked the wires on the switch, of course I found that they were dead (since the outlet they controlled was disconnected). So, it appears, had I simply flipped the switch to the outlet before disconnecting it, I would have figured out the problem. Live and Learn!!
viking1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts