Dead Outlet : 120V Hot-ground, 0V Neutral-ground, 0V Hot-neutral - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2014, 08:27 PM   #1
FPJ
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


Hi,
I have 3 outlets that don't work. When I look with the multimeter for the voltage between hot and ground, I get 120V. When I check from neutral to ground, I get slightly above 0V. But when I check from hot to neutral, I get about 0V.

Any ideas as what the problem could be?

Thank you,
Frederic

Advertisement

FPJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 09:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,706
Rewards Points: 528
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


Loose neutral wire some place.
Could be anyplace, outlets panel box.
If the outlets are back stabbed redo them so there under the screws.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 09:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


Agree with Joe.

Find out how many receptacles are on that circuit, and check them all for loose white wires.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2014, 11:21 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,334
Rewards Points: 3,462
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


Move the black and white both to the screws if they are back stabbed.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 02:50 PM   #5
FPJ
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


Thank you for putting me on the right track, the problem is now fixed. It was indeed an outlet in another room on the same circuit that I didn't think of. However, it took me a little longer to find out as all wires were well screwed in.

It turned out that one outlet was defective with no continuity between the two screws on the neutral side.

Thanks,
Frederic
FPJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to FPJ For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (02-24-2014)
Old 02-24-2014, 05:26 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


I've never seen a defective receptacle in that nature, do you still have it? Can you post a picture?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 05:29 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


i got a receptacle like that one time, like to drove me crazy. on looking at it you couldn't see the problem. but when you hooked it to power everything below it was dead, & it was brand new!
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 05:32 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,161
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by circuitman View Post
i got a receptacle like that one time, like to drove me crazy. on looking at it you couldn't see the problem. but when you hooked it to power everything below it was dead, & it was brand new!
I'm confused, how could you not see the tab broken out?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 06:58 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I'm confused, how could you not see the tab broken out?
that was the point of my post, you couldn't physically see it. that was also what puzzled me too. think the piece was a thin stamping.
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 01:12 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 170
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


I would not think to check if a receptacle brand new from the store had the tabs broken off. But possibly some vandal went through the bin at the store and broke some of them off. Never would have thought of that, but the next time I buy a receptacle I'll check first.
fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 01:47 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 328
Rewards Points: 296
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


Are you sure that the "defective" outlet you replaced wasn't supposed to have a broken neutral tab? Was the hot tab still in place? I don't believe there's any reason for electrical wiring to have a hot tab in place but a neutral tab removed, but there are reasons to remove both tabs, or just the hot tab.
JKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 12:26 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


yeah! i'm postive,the outlet was brand new out of the box. i belive when they stamped the pieces, they cut them a little thin, so when current ran through it , it gave.you couldn't physically see it. had me stumped too.
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 01:45 PM   #13
FPJ
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


Just like mentionned, the outlet looked intact just like the others. The outlet was not new however, it had been there for years. One day, something must have happened to break the metal link between the two screws and the problem came up.
Very puzzling indeed!
FPJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 05:08 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,699
Rewards Points: 2,358
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


Quote:
Originally Posted by FPJ View Post
Hi,
I have 3 outlets that don't work. When I look with the multimeter for the voltage between hot and ground, I get 120V. When I check from neutral to ground, I get slightly above 0V. But when I check from hot to neutral, I get about 0V.

Any ideas as what the problem could be?

Thank you,
Frederic
Where exactily where these measurements taken ?
You clearly have an open neutral !
Stratigic measurements will reveal all !
But we need to know where you measured from ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 09:47 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 328
Rewards Points: 296
Default

Dead outlet : 120V hot-ground, 0V neutral-ground, 0V hot-neutral


If you read the thread, dmxtothemax, you will see that there was in fact an open neutral, the OP found it, and the problem has been solved.

Advertisement

JKeefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical outlet , ground , hot , neutral


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 11:58 PM
Generator connection Question - Final Plan Apollo67 Electrical 24 01-30-2012 08:44 PM
Help if it's not too late!! Cyndi Electrical 255 10-10-2008 10:18 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 05:58 PM
Nuetral from feeder cable to main panel question? TW Lucas Electrical 14 05-08-2008 12:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.
<--
-->