Dc Appliance Wired To Ac House? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2006, 01:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dc appliance wired to ac house?


I have a winch from an atv I'd like to hook up in my garage. It's meant to be run from a 12v DC battery and says it may carry up to 130 amps at a full load. I think I can find an AC-to-DC converter but the circuit breaker in my garage is only 20 amps and I doubt my wires could handle anywhere near 130 amps. Are AC amps different from DC? Would the converter handle this? Any ideas how to do this?

Advertisement

rross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 07:00 PM   #2
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

dc appliance wired to ac house?


Just set up a battery bank (2 golf cart batteries wired in series) and a charger that will keep up with the expected load. A 130A converter is going to be big bucks.

Advertisement

Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 11:14 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

dc appliance wired to ac house?


130 amps at 12 volts is 13 amps at 120 volts.
The converter is the big issue as Teetor stated.

The battery and charger method would be your best bet.
Or get a 120v winch. :p
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 08:22 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,349
Rewards Points: 3,492
Blog Entries: 4
Default

dc appliance wired to ac house?


Battery and charger is your best bet, but don't wire the batteries in series. That will give you 24 volts.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 10:24 PM   #5
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

dc appliance wired to ac house?


Golf cart batteries are one of the few true deep-cycle batteries and they are typically 6V. Wired in series would = 12V.
Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 06:47 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dc appliance wired to ac house?


thanks guys. if the current in the AC circuit would be 13 amps, shouldn't the 20 amp fuse protect it? or will it blow the converter first? would a 130 amp fuse in the DC line work? I'd hate to live with the battery setup but i may have to. maybe i'll just hook some pulleys up to my atv.
this is a great site btw.
rross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 08:21 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

dc appliance wired to ac house?


One main problem is finding a power supply/converter with 130 amps continuous output. That will be a huge unit.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 09:45 PM   #8
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Rewards Points: 500
Default

dc appliance wired to ac house?


Actually, finding the unit isn't that difficult. Check marine. Paying for it may prove to be the difficult part plus converters/inverters have a very high failure rate.

Advertisement

Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 09:20 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 05:45 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 06:54 PM
Issues with appliance plug hgiljr Electrical 1 03-17-2007 08:09 AM
Brick and block house footer question. ourzoo Building & Construction 2 07-01-2006 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts