Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2011, 08:48 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: southeastern mass.
Posts: 155
Share |
Default

dc/ac power inverter on a boat


My brother-in-law has a boat in which I would like to install a power inverter for light ac use. The boat has no separate generator (but wish it did). What I want to do is run from the battery to a circuit breaker, then to an on-off switch to the inverter. I have 3 inverters I could use, 1000W, 750W and a 400W unit. I have read that if using an inverter for low wattage load they become very inefficient. Therefore, I am thinking of using both the 750 and 400W units separately. This will allow the running of a fan, etc while under way. No heavy loads are anticipated, as the dual batteries would not handle it. approximately 1000w = 120v * 9 A. that = 90 A at 12vdc assuming 100% conversion (not).

I have several airpax and heinemann industrial panel mount legacy breakers. Some are rated 250VAC hold 50A trip 62.5 A. Any thoughts on using them for the DC breakers?

Any thoughts on what to use for on-off switching?

thanks for any input.

bernie

bernie963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 10:32 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,526
Default

dc/ac power inverter on a boat


Definitely do not use AC breakers for DC. Unfortunately, DC circuits are much harder to interrupt than AC, even at lower voltage. An AC breaker may not reliably interrupt the fault. It may just arc across the contacts and catch on fire instead. Fuses are easiest for this application. Car audio shops have fuses and distribution blocks that are ideally suited for this type of application. Most inverters are intended to be connected to the battery permanently and draw essentially no current while turned off. The built-in switch is all that's required to turn them on and off. If you want remote switching, remove the switch and wire it remotely - it's usually not hard to do.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2011, 04:03 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

dc/ac power inverter on a boat


I would suggest to mount the inverter closer to the battery, with fuses in the DC lines to the inverter. You can get an inverter with remote on/off switch capability - such as those designed for RV use.
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 10:12 AM   #4
Craftsman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 66
Default

dc/ac power inverter on a boat


Use #2 (110 amp capacity) copper starter cable or welding cable with crimp ends (available at NAPA, Autozone ect) fuse the plus as close as possible to the batteries then a battery switch (300 amp capacity,Off, battery1,battery2,both, available at west marine or possibly NAPA) to the inverter 12 volt in plus. Then if the inverter has built-in overload protection a switch and receptacles located where you like in the high voltage side. If no built-in protection in the inverter run to a breaker first. Be cautious about not mounting anything which can produce a spark in the engine/fuel area.
Superrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 11:28 AM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,845
Default

dc/ac power inverter on a boat


You can check out Clayton power for marine power inverters http://www.claytonpower.com/products...cb45b037394d28

Other Marine power inverter sellers http://search.yahoo.com/search;_ylt=...param=&rd=pref
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dumb electrical question about potentially overloading a power socket zapp Electrical 2 02-18-2011 09:43 AM
No Power at Electronic Air Cleaner Junction Box edge10 HVAC 1 09-28-2009 07:26 PM
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 06:15 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.