Daisy Chain Help! - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2011, 01:56 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Daisy Chain help!


What are you measuring the voltage with?

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 02:03 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Daisy Chain help!


A multimeter
hoytman1018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 02:05 PM   #18
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Daisy Chain help!


Check all your connections... from the panel on. You may have a loose connection that will let you read 120V on the meter, but not allow any significant current to flow.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 02:11 PM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Daisy Chain help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by hoytman1018 View Post
A multimeter
Test the meter in a receptacle to make sure it reads correctly.

A bad battery can give a false reading, so you want to make sure that is not a problem.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 02:15 PM   #20
rbj
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Daisy Chain help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Test the meter in a receptacle to make sure it reads correctly.

A bad battery can give a false reading, so you want to make sure that is not a problem.
sans AC
rbj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 02:36 PM   #21
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

Daisy Chain help!


Better send pictures of the panel/breaker, switch box and the fixtures.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 04:41 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Daisy Chain help!


Reviewing the bidding:

You have power -- switch -- L1 -- L2 -- L3 -- L4 -- L5

You do not want to connect L5 directly all the way back to the switch.

Conenct all the ground wires together in each box.

cONNECT ALL THE WHITE WIRES TO EACH OTHER IN EACH BOX.

cONNECT ALL THE BLACK WIRES TO EACH OTHER IN ALL THE swithc BOXES.

You said you get 120 volst white to black in each box with the switch on? If this is so there is no reason why the lights should not work.

Are you getting 120 volts from the center tab to the socket shell in each fixture (with the lamp unscrewed)?

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-27-2011 at 04:43 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flusher chain problems debd Plumbing 2 06-30-2011 03:05 PM
Installing vinyl fenching over chain link? rbove8 General DIY Discussions 3 05-02-2011 10:54 PM
Daisy Chain Sub-Panels to Garage? toddmanqa Electrical 4 10-22-2010 11:50 AM
How to chain 20A receptacles? deko Electrical 26 10-16-2010 01:15 AM
Can I daisy chain off the main breaker box? bugmenot Electrical 14 04-09-2009 07:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts