Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2012, 03:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Share |
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


I have a length of RG6 coax cable that I want to cut in order to install a 3 way digital splitter. The computers and the TV's are currently connected to this cable. Can I simply cut into it? I can't really shut it off, as I would a normal electrical circuit, right? Thanks.
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 03:13 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,042
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


There should be a connection either just inside or outside of the house.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 07:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 94
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


It's low voltage, so there is no concern for electrocution assuming everything is hooked up properly. Jim is right there is probably already a splitter in the house somewhere you can hook a new cable into. I assume you have the tools to attach new RG6 connectors if you do cut into this cable. You can't use wire nuts.
chemman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 07:16 PM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,193
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


Here is a little video on what is involved....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZT6oEL7_bDs
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 08:30 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


Thanks for the replies, guys. For better or worse, I did just cut into the cable (before I saw the replies here), knowing that it was low voltage, and that I wasn't in any real danger. I just didn't know if it would hurt the connections. I got everything all squared away (I had watched some youtube videos and knew I needed special tools, which I bought.) Everything is working fine. My only problem is that I thought I would be able to fit a "one line in-three lines out" digital splitter within a standard single low voltage box with a blank face plate. But with the radii of all the cables, I can't seem to make it work. Is there a trick? I don't really have room for a larger box within the framing, so I will need to look at it more closely tomorrow. At least I still have cable internet connection, so i can ask for help if I need it!
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 08:48 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,042
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


Can you put the splitter outside the wall?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 11:13 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpagel View Post
... My only problem is that I thought I would be able to fit a "one line in-three lines out" digital splitter within a standard single low voltage box with a blank face plate. But with the radii of all the cables, I can't seem to make it work. Is there a trick? I don't really have room for a larger box within the framing, so I will need to look at it more closely tomorrow. At least I still have cable internet connection, so i can ask for help if I need it!
There are 90 degree F-connectors that might help fit everything in the box; you should be able to get these at Radio Shack.

Or, depending on how you have the splitter arranged, you could bring the cables in from the top or back of the box, so it's a straight shot instead of having to make the bend. You might have to drill new holes in the box, not sure if that's allowed per code. Actually, I don't know if the NEC applies to millivolt level wiring or not.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 06:42 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


I can't put the splitter on the outside, because then the cables would go back into the wall to go to other rooms, and that might look a bit odd. I will search for the F connector. My other option, I guess, is placing the splitter in the wall cavity, and just use the box and plate for access to it, although it would be difficult access. I will also see if I can cut some wood out of the way and fit a double box, though I am not sure the splitter would fit in that either. thanks for the replies.
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 08:00 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpagel View Post
I can't put the splitter on the outside, because then the cables would go back into the wall to go to other rooms, and that might look a bit odd. I will search for the F connector. My other option, I guess, is placing the splitter in the wall cavity, and just use the box and plate for access to it, although it would be difficult access. I will also see if I can cut some wood out of the way and fit a double box, though I am not sure the splitter would fit in that either. thanks for the replies.
Another possibility is to drill holes in the box, and mount the splitter to the inside of the box, using nuts on the female F fittings of the splitter. Then only one of your RG6 cables has to make a 90 degree bend. You might have to hunt a bit to find the right size nuts.
Attached Thumbnails
Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?-1to3splitter.jpg  
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 08:26 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


Thanks Dave. I will see if that would work.
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 08:47 AM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,042
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


You do not need a box for the cable.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:04 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


Jim... Really? I can just put the splitter in the wall, close it up and and forget about it?
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 09:28 AM   #13
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,505
Default

Cutting live RG6 to install splitter - OK?


Cut the back out of the box, attach the box to the wall, add a blank cover. All the room you need and you still have access.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HouseHelper For This Useful Post:
zappa (10-18-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HRV Install and balancing questions creamaster HVAC 0 10-07-2010 12:26 PM
Skylight Install - Cutting attic joist crossbeams? spup345 Building & Construction 1 08-26-2010 10:41 AM
Anyone install a tin/copper style ceiling? flashme18 Remodeling 7 07-19-2009 07:56 AM
cutting shingles to install gutters Chicago Bill General DIY Discussions 2 02-27-2009 05:42 AM
Preparing to install Kerdi on bathtub surround DIY-Renovator Flooring 18 07-17-2008 10:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.