Cutler Hammer Main Service ? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2014, 04:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cutler Hammer Main Service ?


Helping a friend... she has an older Cutler Hammer 200 amp main service panel outside on her pole below the meter. Her 200 amp main breaker sit's vertically and takes up half the available breaker spaces. There are only 8 slots left... 4 of these slots are being taken up by a single "long" 2 pole 100 amp breaker (4lug?).

Then she has a 2 pole 60amp and a 2 pole 30amp breaker..... so now all the slots are used...

Question 1, Could a horizontial 200amp main be installed instead of a verticall 200 amp breaker?... this would give some extra room.

Question 2, Can the long 100amp breaker be switched to a shorter 100amp breaker that only takes up 2 slots? Therby leaving room for another 2 pole breaker. This 100amp breaker feeds her house panel.

I am not sure if her box is a BR or CH type

Advertisement

TDMcGinniss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 04:53 PM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Cutler Hammer Main Service ?


there is no horizontal 200a breaker

yes the 100a breaker is the older long style and can be replaced with a newer style 'short' version.


I can almost guarantee she has the CH series. The Handles will be tan, and the breakers will only be approx 3/4" per pole if they are.

Advertisement

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
TDMcGinniss (01-31-2014)
Old 01-31-2014, 05:18 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Cutler Hammer Main Service ?


There is a good chance that the stabs the breakers clip onto are only rated for 100A and that would be why the full size breaker is installed, so you cannot install a breaker across from it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-31-2014)
Old 01-31-2014, 06:02 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cutler Hammer Main Service ?


Well ok then.......I somehow knew this was not going to be a "simple" fix

So, is there a way I can tell what the stabs are rated for? It is a fairly large wire that feeds the whole house from that one 100amp breaker. And it is a CH model 200 amp breaker box.

Thanks All

Last edited by TDMcGinniss; 01-31-2014 at 06:23 PM. Reason: spelling
TDMcGinniss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 06:39 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Cutler Hammer Main Service ?


If you could find a model number, that would help, or you can look at the sticker inside the panel. It should tell you there.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 06:46 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cutler Hammer Main Service ?


ok thanks... i won't be able to look at her panel until sunday.
TDMcGinniss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 11:52 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Cutler Hammer Main Service ?


Take pictures while your there. It helps us see exactly what you have.

Advertisement

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tandem breaker positions in main service panel elmaur Electrical 14 05-11-2012 02:28 PM
Main Service Question raleighthings Electrical 10 10-05-2011 01:35 PM
Question about main service line connections greendog Electrical 7 04-23-2011 01:38 AM
Can H. O. Install new UG Main service? calstonx Electrical 16 02-24-2009 08:07 AM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts