Cutler Hammer Breaker??? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2011, 11:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Cutler Hammer Breaker???


I have a Cutler Hammer Panel and went to look what breaker I needed. I noticed some are BD and some are BR, what is the difference? They are both for the BR series and from reading the panel it looks like both are fine for my panel, but now curiosity has me....besides a little price difference what gives?

Advertisement

Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:06 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Cutler Hammer Breaker???


This is a mixed bag. But I perceive that you are looking at the twin-type or tandem breakers here.

Type BD tandem breakers are class "CTL" which means circuit-limiting. They will only fit in your panel where there is a notch in the bus bars. Some panels have those notches in only part of the bus bar, which can limit the number of places you can install them, and thus limits the total number of breakers in any one panel.

Type BR tandem breakers are non-class CTL, and are labeled "For replacement use only" They will fit anywhere in the panel, and using them can exceed the number of circuits that a panel was designed and listed to accept.

The BR type are much more expensive than the BD type, BTW.


As for the regular size breakers (not the tandem type) type BR is the norm for any BR panel.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 286
Default

Cutler Hammer Breaker???


Yes, I was referring to the twin-type. I bought the BR style, but am thinking of taking them back and getting the others. My panel apparently can use all BD, as it turns out that is what most of them are. ....of course, maybe I'll double check my sub panels 1st.

Thanks for clearing that up!
Master Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help, breaker unstable Atroxx Electrical 16 08-08-2009 11:53 AM
Help if it's not too late!! Cyndi Electrical 255 10-10-2008 10:18 PM
Subpanels & cutler hammer arc fault breakers MoreCowbell Electrical 13 04-04-2008 11:19 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts