Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 04:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
Share |
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


Good evening all,

I screwed up while removing an electric baseboard heater that we do not use. We planned to re-purpose the circuit to add an outlet in a nearby bathroom.

So I turned off the breaker for that room. Turns out the panel was adequately labeled by the previous owners. The heater was not on the same circuit as the rest of the room. I made the ridiculous assumption that the power was off to the heater without putting my meter on it. I cut the cable and nearly jumped out of my skin when it popped. I put my meter on it (which I should have done beforehand) and now there's no power to the line. I looked at the panel and no breakers were tripped. I did turn them all off then on again anyway.

I looked around and there's no GFCI in sight. And the ones that we do have in the house aren't tripped either - I checked them all.

Lastly, I looked for a sub panel but came up empty.

What else might cause a line to go dead like that?

josephmartins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 05:34 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,406
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


Did you also reset the larger two pole breakers?

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


Hi Jim,

Yes I reset every breaker in the panel. I am at a loss on this one.
josephmartins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:19 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,718
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


Must be a sub-panel or you need to take the panel cover off and test all the 2 pole breakers.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


Have you learnt a leson from this experience ?
ALWAYS ALWAYS check a wire is dead BEFORE you touch it !
Reguardless of what you think you have done to make it safe !
RULE NO 1
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:39 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


Oh I should have known better. I usually do check. The one time I let my guard down I screw up. All it takes is one time.

I will have to open the panel and give it a look. Something is definitely up with that circuit.
josephmartins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:44 PM   #7
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


Quote:
Originally Posted by josephmartins View Post
Good evening all,

I screwed up while removing an electric baseboard heater that we do not use. We planned to re-purpose the circuit to add an outlet in a nearby bathroom.

So I turned off the breaker for that room. Turns out the panel was adequately labeled by the previous owners. The heater was not on the same circuit as the rest of the room. I made the ridiculous assumption that the power was off to the heater without putting my meter on it. I cut the cable and nearly jumped out of my skin when it popped. I put my meter on it (which I should have done beforehand) and now there's no power to the line. I looked at the panel and no breakers were tripped. I did turn them all off then on again anyway.

I looked around and there's no GFCI in sight. And the ones that we do have in the house aren't tripped either - I checked them all.

Lastly, I looked for a sub panel but came up empty.

What else might cause a line to go dead like that?
Good evening,
I'm wonder if there may have been a splice in the wire to the baseboards wire somewhere, and when you arced at the cut point, it also opened the splice ... just a thought.
More than likely its a sub-panel.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


So do you know for sure where the power for that circuit
originates from ?

Follow the cable back if your not sure !
Then start at the beginning.
Test at main breaker,
then test at all points along the way,
There is no easy way !
Specially if your not sure of the electrical system,
and its layout.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:05 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


That's one of the challenges. The wire disappears into a wall and now that the wire is not powered there's no way for me to simply flip breakers looking for the correct one. I'll start with making sure everything is ok at the panel and work my way out from there.
josephmartins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:28 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,692
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


Do you have a wall mounted t stat, or was it installed on the heater?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:42 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 23
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Do you have a wall mounted t stat, or was it installed on the heater?
mounted on the heater
josephmartins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:30 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

Cut a wire, now there's no power to the remaining cable.


Quote:
Originally Posted by josephmartins View Post
mounted on the heater
Have you checked the t stat ?
And is there voltage on both sides of it ?

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 wire cable configurations rjniles Electrical 6 10-05-2011 03:35 PM
What size ground wire should I use for 8 gauge power dxmullin Electrical 1 07-06-2011 02:57 PM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
Cable question tommy_vercetti Home Theater 15 09-26-2009 09:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.