Cut Through Extension Cord - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2011, 08:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 33
Default

Cut through extension cord


Long story short, hedge trimmer cut through the extension cord. Power on that breaker stuttered enough to turn off the TV, but the breaker didn't actually trip. Should I be worried? The breaker is a standard 20A and the cord was literally cut in half. No, I wasn't doing the trimming. I was watching the TV.

Advertisement

Sliding Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 08:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


If there is a gfci outlet, then no the breaker would not have tripped, but the gfci would have.

Advertisement

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 09:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 33
Default


Just a plain outlet in the garage. In fact, there are no GFCIs anywhere in the garage.
Sliding Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 09:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


Really can not tell you, other than if the cut was made quick enough, so that it did not short the hot & neutral, the breaker would not have tripped also. Keep in mind, that there are times that garages are piggy backed off of another circuit, such as a bath, laundry, kitchen, basement, or even outside.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Sliding Man (11-14-2011)
Old 11-13-2011, 09:53 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,452
Rewards Points: 504
Default


Turn the breaker in question completely off, then back on, just to be sure it's reset. Shouldn't be a problem. Is the TV still working?
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 03:32 AM   #6
Member
 
dmxtothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 3,869
Rewards Points: 4,698
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sliding Man View Post
Long story short, hedge trimmer cut through the extension cord. Power on that breaker stuttered enough to turn off the TV, but the breaker didn't actually trip. Should I be worried? The breaker is a standard 20A and the cord was literally cut in half. No, I wasn't doing the trimming. I was watching the TV.
If you have any concerns !
And you do !
Fit a gfci.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 09:05 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 454
Rewards Points: 616
Default


is it a federal pacific breaker
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 09:49 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 48
Rewards Points: 25
Default


GE breakers are notorious for this kind of action. I would replace the breaker in question.
Colomboj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 05:21 PM   #9
Member
 
dmxtothemax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Posts: 3,869
Rewards Points: 4,698
Default


Just because the breaker failed to trip when the ext cord was cut,
doesnt mean it is faulty.
So I would not replace it on solely on this response.
If the cut was quick and clean,
then the short might have been only very breif.
not enough to trip the breaker.
This would be considered normal response.
If you want a higher level of protection
then you should use GFCI's.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
Sliding Man (11-14-2011)
Old 11-14-2011, 06:39 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmusic
is it a federal pacific breaker
It might be a Zinsco..
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 09:56 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 33
Default


It's a GE panel, but I can't tell what the breakers are. They have no name or stickers on them anywhere.

Advertisement

Sliding Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting a battery backup to an extension cord (or vice versa); safe? kev77 Electrical 2 03-19-2011 01:02 PM
Is my extension cord OK? MT Stringer Electrical 4 10-20-2009 07:25 AM
I can't find 16 gauge heavy duty extension cord! darsunt Electrical 21 08-04-2009 07:50 PM
Air Compressor stopped working, extension cord was used. dawho1 Tools 3 10-07-2008 05:14 AM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1