Cut Pipe Or Move Meter Cable? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 06:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tolland, CT
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


The previous owner of my house had the electric upgraded to 220 service a few years ago. Problem is they have the new cable crammed up against a copper pipe. I want to move the pipe up so I can put new baseboard heater covers in the room above. I can't pull the pipe high enough to get the new covers on because of the stupid power cable. I'd like the cable below the pipe not above. What do you guys recommend? Whoever installed the cable is an idiot. I attached a picture so you can see what I'm talking about.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Cut pipe or move meter cable?-image.jpg  

Advertisement

Paintrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:59 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cleveland ohio
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


I would cut the pipe, some sharkbite fittings maybe all you need. If the pipe is jambed in there you may need to sweat it anyway.

Advertisement

paintdrying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:21 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


So whoever installed the cable was supposed to be psychic and know you wanted to make changes? Hardly an idiot, they dealt with the conditions at the time.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
brric (01-21-2013), frenchelectrican (01-20-2013), gregzoll (01-20-2013), jbfan (01-21-2013), NJMarine (01-23-2013), stickboy1375 (01-21-2013)
Old 01-20-2013, 07:36 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,337
Rewards Points: 3,468
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


Cut the pipe. You certainly can't cut the cable.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:37 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,393
Rewards Points: 2,448
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


I would go to the left of the picture, cut the line, then go to the right where it goes up through the floor, cut there. Then pull back and raise above the entrance line, reattach with shark bites.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:45 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Paintrunner View Post
The previous owner of my house had the electric upgraded to 220 service a few years ago. Problem is they have the new cable crammed up against a copper pipe. I want to move the pipe up so I can put new baseboard heater covers in the room above. I can't pull the pipe high enough to get the new covers on because of the stupid power cable. I'd like the cable below the pipe not above. What do you guys recommend? Whoever installed the cable is an idiot. I attached a picture so you can see what I'm talking about.

Thanks!
I have done the same thing when ran new service entrance cable like that and useally not a issue however if you really want to move the pipe the best answer is cut the eau pipe not the service entrance cable that is unfused so you will have to use two splices on the eau pipe.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:19 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,710
Rewards Points: 536
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


PS All houses are wire 220 from the incoming power line, it gets split in the panel box to 110 on each side.
They may have upgraded for say a 60 to a 100 amps panel or more but did not "change" it to 220 V.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 11:24 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


I love it when homeowners tell me they have really messed up wiring because they can't figure something out.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
electures (01-22-2013)
Old 01-20-2013, 11:30 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,710
Rewards Points: 536
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


Let them trying pulling a wire that size. I know I'd make it as easy on myself as possible.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
electures (01-22-2013)
Old 01-20-2013, 11:33 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Let them trying pulling a wire that size. I know I'd make it as easy on myself as possible.
That size is not bother me much but just wait until you see larger commercal / industrail conductor size now that will open your eyes on that one and you will be very sore when ya get done with it.

I just got one done yesterday 8 conductors per phase 240mm2 ( same as 500 KCM conductor )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:17 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
That size is not bother me much but just wait until you see larger commercal / industrail conductor size now that will open your eyes on that one and you will be very sore when ya get done with it.

I just got one done yesterday 8 conductors per phase 240mm2 ( same as 500 KCM conductor )

Merci,
Marc
That aluminum se cable I always find it to be really easy to bend. It's the URD cables and larger copper that I find are usually hard to bend. Most I ever get to deal with around here is 250 300.

What kind of puller do you use on a pull like that?
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:30 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tolland, CT
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


Thanks for suggesting going the route of shark bites. I figured it would be easier to cut the pipe than have a electrician come out and disconnect the cable. Maybe the person that installed the cable wasn't an idiot, but they sure didn't use their brain. It seems like having the hot water pipe free to move above the cable instead of pinned down against the foundation would of been the better option. The hot water pipe has begun to melt the outside jacket of the cable.
Paintrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:44 PM   #13
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,393
Rewards Points: 2,448
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


Actually Paintrunner, it is the other way around. The Copper pipe came before the electrical. So really whoever pulled that service cable is the idiot, not the person from who knows when the house was built, installed that copper.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:05 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tolland, CT
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Actually Paintrunner, it is the other way around. The Copper pipe came before the electrical. So really whoever pulled that service cable is the idiot, not the person from who knows when the house was built, installed that copper.
Yea I know. The cable came circa 2005. The pipe 1973.
Paintrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:11 PM   #15
Plumber/Contractor
 
TheEplumber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 7,248
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

Cut pipe or move meter cable?


Good to see this was posted in the Electrical Board- it's definitely not a plumbing issue

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
TheEplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to TheEplumber For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-21-2013), jbfan (01-22-2013), oh'mike (01-21-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A couple furnace gas pipe questions, and an entire plan to replace my gas valve richapple HVAC 13 12-05-2012 12:33 PM
I need to test a cable for a kitchen range justplumducky Electrical 4 10-22-2012 12:23 AM
proximity of copper h2o pipe to MC cable amakarevic Electrical 5 10-26-2011 11:24 PM
New service Help (Meter can/ service mast Conduit help) cwolford Electrical 13 03-26-2011 08:55 PM
Septic/sewer pipe replacement Mendocino Plumbing 4 11-21-2008 06:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts