Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2010, 08:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cut phone wire loop for jack?


All,

I'm popping a jack into an existing room which has phone wire stuffed into unfinished outlet hole, in other words, the room was wired in original construction 40 years ago but no actual jack installed.

The wire is easily accessible but I don't see an "end" to ther wire -- instead I'm holding a loop of wire. I'm assuming that one end leads from the NID and the other goes to phone jack in adjoining room.

So if I splice wire where I want to put my new jack ... do I connect both ends of the splice (from loop) to my new jack? I don't really know what I'm doing here ...

Thanks for any advice.

agoldsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 08:56 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,282
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Cut phone wire loop for jack?


That is exactly how it is done. Just make sure that both ends are connected securely under the proper screws. Now if they used the Blue/Blue-White, etc, http://www.lanshack.com/wire_phone_jack.htm

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 09:38 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 419
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Cut phone wire loop for jack?


This is an acceptable way of doing it and is called daisy-chaining.It should work a phone just fine.You may have a problem trying to run high-speed internet this way particularly with 40 year old wire.For a high-speed application you should run a CAT5 wire back to the NID.
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 10:02 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cut phone wire loop for jack?


Thanks to all for the input. The daisy-chain wiring worked and I was able to get the phone operational immediately. Thanks again!

.
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb1 View Post
This is an acceptable way of doing it and is called daisy-chaining.It should work a phone just fine.You may have a problem trying to run high-speed internet this way particularly with 40 year old wire.For a high-speed application you should run a CAT5 wire back to the NID.
agoldsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the best way to wire this? RST Electrical 8 08-18-2009 11:29 PM
Low Voltage Wire Shorting Rdakota06 Electrical 3 07-22-2009 01:15 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101 allen1466 Electrical 7 07-17-2007 11:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.