Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2013, 07:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Cut ground wire, okay to reuse?


Hey all -

I'm in the process of adding a kitchen peninsula and want to add an outlet on the wall above the counter.

I went up in the attic to scope things out, and lucky me - there's already a wire running from the nearby 20A outlet that terminates in the attic. I think there used to be a partition wall in the kitchen that this ran to. Anyway, it looks like someone intentionally dug the ground out from the middle of the run and snipped it!

As I really don't want to run a whole new wire to the existing outlet, is there any acceptable way to re-use this wire or repair it? Any drawbacks to simply installing a GFCI without the equipment ground?

Thanks

rushty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 08:18 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,686
Default

Cut ground wire, okay to reuse?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rushty6 View Post
Hey all -

I'm in the process of adding a kitchen peninsula and want to add an outlet on the wall above the counter.

I went up in the attic to scope things out, and lucky me - there's already a wire running from the nearby 20A outlet that terminates in the attic. I think there used to be a partition wall in the kitchen that this ran to. Anyway, it looks like someone intentionally dug the ground out from the middle of the run and snipped it!

As I really don't want to run a whole new wire to the existing outlet, is there any acceptable way to re-use this wire or repair it? Any drawbacks to simply installing a GFCI without the equipment ground?

Thanks
If they only cut the ground wire, then just cut the entire wire and box it out and re-splice all the conductors. Use two boxes if you cant reclaim any slack to remake the splice.

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 08:32 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,526
Default

Cut ground wire, okay to reuse?


Since the circuit is actually grounded, and was presumably required to be grounded when it was installed, you cannot legally use a GFCI instead of an equipment grounding conductor. You can just cut a section of cable out, install a J-box at each cut end, and run a short piece of new cable in between. It is odd for someone to have intentionally cut the grounding conductor. They may have done it for a reason (fault? used as a traveler? who knows...) so you should check to make sure it is properly connected at both ends and there isn't something dangerous and weird going on.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 08:34 PM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

Cut ground wire, okay to reuse?


You should also make sure it it part of the small appliance countertop circuit before extending it into the kitchen.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 09:04 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Cut ground wire, okay to reuse?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You should also make sure it it part of the small appliance countertop circuit before extending it into the kitchen.
The outlet it's coming from is a 20A in the kitchen, although near the floor and not countertop. This outlet is the only thing on that circuit and almost never used.. sound okay?
rushty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 09:08 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Cut ground wire, okay to reuse?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
you should check to make sure it is properly connected at both ends and there isn't something dangerous and weird going on.
Ha, too late.. whoever ripped out the partition wall just pulled the extra wire into the attic and let it sit there, no wire nuts, tape, nothing to cap the ends. And it was still hot
rushty6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 09:28 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,397
Default

Cut ground wire, okay to reuse?


A 20 amp circuit serving receptacles in the kitchen and/or dining room would be acceptable to run to the island.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
voltage on ground wire - multiple ground problem? Thaiman Electrical 14 04-02-2011 11:49 AM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 02:06 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.