Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2012, 05:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Cut-In box question


I live in an attached townhome and am in the process of adding an interior room to my home. The common wall is existing and is made up of 2 sheets of 5/8" drywall. I want to use "cut-in" boxes or for a lack of a better term a box with tabs that pull on the inside of the drywall to secure it rather than attaching it to the studs. Do they make a box that would work for 1 1/4" inches or more of drywall? Any other ideas to get a single gang box in the wall without having to attach it directly to a stud and cut the existing drywall?

Chris

solidworks400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 05:26 PM   #2
Jack of all trades
 
danrb007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Colorado/Wyoming
Posts: 73
Send a message via Yahoo to danrb007
Default

Cut-In box question


I have used some old work boxes (the ones you are talking about) in a house with plaster and lathe which can be pretty thick. What i did is took one of the screws that hold the tab out and took it to the screw isle and got a longer screw of the same size. That should work for you

danrb007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 05:37 PM   #3
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 697
Default

Cut-In box question


In my area, old work/cut in boxes are not allowed in a fire rated assembly, boxes must be 'attached to the framing members', not the drywall.
Techy is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
Code05 (02-19-2012)
Old 02-19-2012, 06:22 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Cut-In box question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
In my area, old work/cut in boxes are not allowed in a fire rated assembly, boxes must be 'attached to the framing members', not the drywall.
Excellent point.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Code05 (02-19-2012), rjniles (02-19-2012)
Old 02-19-2012, 06:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Cut-In box question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
In my area, old work/cut in boxes are not allowed in a fire rated assembly, boxes must be 'attached to the framing members', not the drywall.
Simple work around could be to use a cut in box and once attached toe nail two drywall screws into the stud. Problem solved. Would I be wrong in saying so? Also being not too familiar with the NEC, where would the codes for this sort of application be found?
solidworks400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 06:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Cut-In box question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
In my area, old work/cut in boxes are not allowed in a fire rated assembly, boxes must be 'attached to the framing members', not the drywall.
I imagine in most areas, plus fire rated putty pads, no shared bays of boxes, and wire type can be factors.

In short, DIYers should leave fire rated separation walls alone IMO.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
brric (02-19-2012), plummen (02-19-2012)
Old 02-19-2012, 06:36 PM   #7
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Cut-In box question


Quote:
Originally Posted by solidworks400 View Post
Simple work around could be to use a cut in box and once attached toe nail two drywall screws into the stud. Problem solved. Would I be wrong in saying so? Also being not too familiar with the NEC, where would the codes for this sort of application be found?
NEC, IRC, IBC, IFC, NFPA 72, and UL Orange book.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 07:00 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Cut-In box question


Quote:
Originally Posted by solidworks400 View Post
Simple work around could be to use a cut in box and once attached toe nail two drywall screws into the stud. Problem solved. Would I be wrong in saying so? Also being not too familiar with the NEC, where would the codes for this sort of application be found?
Yes.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 08:05 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Cut-In box question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
I imagine in most areas, plus fire rated putty pads, no shared bays of boxes, and wire type can be factors.

In short, DIYers should leave fire rated separation walls alone IMO.
In your opinion why should DIYers leave fire rated separation walls alone? In a pre-drywall walkthrough of my home, the wiring and wire type in that wall was no different than in any other part of the house. Also why would I be wrong in saying adding a toenailed screw to a cut-in box would work? The fact that I don't know is why I am asking these questions, please do not think that I am calling you incorrect.

Also, so that I can read up on it, where in the NEC would I find this info?

Thanks
solidworks400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 08:37 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Cut-In box question


Nec 300.21
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Code05 (02-20-2012)
Old 02-19-2012, 08:37 PM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,882
Default

Cut-In box question


Liability,youre now affecting yourself and your neighbor
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to plummen For This Useful Post:
Code05 (02-20-2012)
Old 02-20-2012, 12:12 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, California
Posts: 265
Default

Cut-In box question


So if boxes need to be rigidly connected to a framing member in a fire wall, does anyone know why/how the plastic old work boxes got the UL 2-hour fire rating stamp?
a_lost_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:09 AM   #13
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,692
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Cut-In box question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
In short, DIYers should leave fire rated separation walls alone IMO.
__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:13 AM   #14
Doing it myself
 
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Crescent City, CA
Posts: 3,692
Send a message via AIM to Alan Send a message via MSN to Alan
Default

Cut-In box question


Quote:
Originally Posted by a_lost_shadow View Post
So if boxes need to be rigidly connected to a framing member in a fire wall, does anyone know why/how the plastic old work boxes got the UL 2-hour fire rating stamp?
Is that an F rating or a T-rating?





Also just to throw this out there: What's the rating of the wall in question?

__________________
Journeyman Plumber
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 11:10 AM   #15
Member
 
Thadius856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Northern California
Posts: 921
Default

Cut-In box question


Quote:
Originally Posted by danrb007 View Post
I have used some old work boxes (the ones you are talking about) in a house with plaster and lathe which can be pretty thick. What i did is took one of the screws that hold the tab out and took it to the screw isle and got a longer screw of the same size. That should work for you
The old work Raco boxes I buy have the screw ends stamped so they can't be pulled out accidentally while in the wall. Be prepared to cut the screw if you want to remove it and this is the case.

__________________
Check out my on-going Project Thread!
Current Project: Whole House Data Wiring
Back Burner: Drywall Patching
Planning: Kitchen Reno
Thadius856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.