Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2013, 02:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Current sensing relay - multiple loops


I want to turn on a light and have this also energize a seperate circuit. I was thinking of using a current sensing relay to do this but the one I am looking at has a trip point of 1.5 amps which is greater than the current that the light will draw (0.4 amps). If I loop the wire through the current sensor 4 or 5 times will this work to make the 0.4A current appear to be 1.6-2.0A to the sensor?

jboyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:54 PM   #2
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 147
Default

Current sensing relay - multiple loops


Quote:
Originally Posted by jboyton View Post
I want to turn on a light and have this also energize a seperate circuit. I was thinking of using a current sensing relay to do this but the one I am looking at has a trip point of 1.5 amps which is greater than the current that the light will draw (0.4 amps). If I loop the wire through the current sensor 4 or 5 times will this work to make the 0.4A current appear to be 1.6-2.0A to the sensor?
What is the seperate circuit you wish to trigger?

diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:55 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,544
Default

Current sensing relay - multiple loops


Yes, it would. But that is not the easiest way to accomplish this. Do you need the second circuit to come on only when the light is actually lit (in other words, not come on if the lamp is burned out)? If you don't need the second circuit to actually indicate proper function of the light, then you should probably just use a regular relay instead of a current sensing relay.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
diystephen (02-27-2013)
Old 02-27-2013, 07:03 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,594
Default

Current sensing relay - multiple loops


Quote:
Originally Posted by jboyton View Post
I want to turn on a light and have this also energize a seperate circuit. I was thinking of using a current sensing relay to do this but the one I am looking at has a trip point of 1.5 amps which is greater than the current that the light will draw (0.4 amps). If I loop the wire through the current sensor 4 or 5 times will this work to make the 0.4A current appear to be 1.6-2.0A to the sensor?
Yes, this will work, and is done on a regular basis.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:55 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Current sensing relay - multiple loops


The seperate circuit is just another light. Basically, I want a second light in another location to go on when I throw one of the two switches (it's a 3-way) that controls an existing light. I could rip out the wall to accomplish this but I'd rather not do it that way. It's easy to access the wiring to one of the switches, but not to the other switch or the existing light.

I guess most people would simply install a motion sensor. But I want the light to go on when I flip a switch, not when it senses movement.

So can I use a regular relay instead?
jboyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 10:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Current sensing relay - multiple loops


It will work. I"ve done a similar thing when measuring the amperage of a thermostat wire, which is below the lowest setting on the ammeter.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 05:58 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,933
Default

Current sensing relay - multiple loops


Quote:
Originally Posted by jboyton View Post
If I loop the wire through the current sensor 4 or 5 times will this work to make the 0.4A current appear to be 1.6-2.0A to the sensor?
Yes. and the current sensor directions tell you this.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 12:29 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Current sensing relay - multiple loops


Okay, thank you.

One person above suggested that a regular relay could be used. Is this true? Wouldn't there be enough of a voltage drop across the relay coil to make it unworkable to put it in series with a light?
jboyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 01:39 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 551
Default

Current sensing relay - multiple loops


You wouldn't put it in series. Light wouldn't work.


You would put coil in parallel with bulb.

Since you already have current sense relay you might as well stay on course.

Be sure relay is UL listed and properly mounted or enclosed.
curiousB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 03:44 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Current sensing relay - multiple loops


Okay, thanks. That's what I thought.

I can't put a relay in parallel with the bulb without ripping out the wall. If I could put it in parallel I wouldn't need any sort of relay, I'd just put the other light in parallel with the existing one.

It's got the little "UL" on the outside. I'm planning to put it inside a junction box.


Last edited by jboyton; 03-01-2013 at 03:50 PM.
jboyton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Relay controlled baseboard heaters a7ecorsair Electrical 6 06-20-2010 01:31 AM
Water sensing relay switch 110V gkern Electrical 4 03-30-2010 07:18 PM
How does a current sensing relay work? forresth HVAC 12 03-22-2010 11:25 AM
Wiring up an outside set of motion sensing lights airdaleairdale Electrical 1 06-11-2009 08:35 PM
newbie...relay problems jfabes Electrical 11 05-06-2008 04:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.