Current Fluke Meters - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2009, 08:54 PM   #1
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Current Fluke meters


Can somebody tell me why Fluke meters suck so bad lately?

Three safety recalls WTF?

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 09:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Current Fluke meters


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Can somebody tell me why Fluke meters suck so bad lately?

Three safety recalls WTF?
They are using "political appointee" elec. engineers to design these things? Boss's son, that type thing?

Or, bad parts.

Is Fluke the reason you are "undead?"

Advertisement


Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-14-2009 at 10:10 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 09:58 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,642
Rewards Points: 1,078
Default

Current Fluke meters


Fluke used to be the best of the best. Nice design, easy to use, reliable, useful features, etc., but in recent years they've gone downhill a lot.

Maybe they're trying to cut back on costs, but in reality, I'll gladly pay a premium for test equipment that'll do what its supposed to and hold up under field use. The older Flukes I have still work, and can still be calibrated. The same can't be said for the newer stuff.

I work on a lot of 'high energy' (meaning that one bad move will usually result in death!) systems; I really don't need to try to read voltage on a set of 3000 amp 480 volt busses and have the meter blow up.

I suspect Yoyizit might be pretty close though.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:01 PM   #4
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

Current Fluke meters


There are five models of the 33X series
http://www.uos.harvard.edu/ehs/const...l_may_2009.pdf

Here is an explanation from Fluke on the "T"series which was subject to a previous recall
http://us.fluke.com/usen/Support/Saf...eandRecall.htm

There are two series that have been recalled
I don,t know how long ago was the "T" series recall
http://us.fluke.com/usen/Support/Safety/default.htm


__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Current Fluke meters


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
They are using "political appointee" elec. engineers to design these things? Boss's son, that type thing?

Or, bad parts.

Is Fluke the reason you are "undead?"
It's the same reason for downfall of FPE (federal Pacific Electric) Circuit breakers and ( most) panels.Don't Drink and Drive!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:34 PM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Current Fluke meters


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
They are using "political appointee" elec. engineers to design these things? Boss's son, that type thing?

Or, bad parts.

Is Fluke the reason you are "undead?"

Didn't get this way from a UEI meter, Bub.














Good one Yoyzie
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:42 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 204
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Current Fluke meters


china syndrome
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:49 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Current Fluke meters


Bought a Fluke 116. Said on the meter "Designed in USA". Big red flag.

Back of the box in a place hard to see it said "Made in China". Took it back in to the wholesaler.

For what they charge for that meter they could make it here.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 10:51 PM   #9
WFO
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Current Fluke meters


I understand that a couple of years ago (and maybe currently as well) AEMC had a contract to produce Fluke meters. Can't say I can confirm that one way or another....except that I've never had a problem with AEMC meters.

Maybe AEMC lost the contract and Fluke subbed it out to someone else.
WFO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 11:23 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Current Fluke meters


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Bought a Fluke 116. Said on the meter "Designed in USA". Big red flag.
Everything gets outsourced to the lowest bidder.
Soon they'll say "We thought about designing this in the USA but we changed our minds".

Advertisement

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GE cl200 kwa meters protechplumbing Electrical 15 09-23-2008 12:10 AM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 05:58 PM
Sub-panel grounding question. gesoneguy Electrical 31 02-22-2008 09:25 AM
80 leds for led light. can i run to 230v mains donnol1983 Electrical 8 12-27-2007 07:23 PM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 02:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts