Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-19-2009, 10:52 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Murray/Siemans.....whatever it takes.

It looks to me like they come from the same factory/mold.

Someone once posted a pic of a Murray AFCI breaker in a Siemans package.

They are the same except for the listing, so I use Siemens in a I-T-E or Siemens panel, & Murray in a Murray or Crouse-Hinds panel.

Norcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 12:13 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


General Electric THQL breakers work fine in my Crouse Hinds panel.
eric_miami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 07:24 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by eric_miami View Post
General Electric THQL breakers work fine in my Crouse Hinds panel.

You can use them, but they are not allowed to be used in Crouse-Hinds gear. Unless you have paperwork stating that a competing make of breaker has been UL classified to fit in a specific panel, you cannot use it.
Norcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 09:01 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Bringing this thread back to life...I need to replace a breaker in the home we just bought. It is a crouse hinds breaker, and the sticker on the side reads MP2020, with a bar code underneath.

I have been told that there are new breakers that will interchange with the old, but I can't seem to find any type of solid information on what to get. The Box stores and www.lawoolley.com here in town were less then helpful.

I did find this breaker http://www.andersonsstore.com/Home-I...Breaker-20-AMP that looks pretty close, but I can't tell if it is exact or not... Just hopeing someone with a little more experiance can set me right here.

Thanks guys
willy0314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 11:17 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Ok..so after some more searching around this is what I have come up with... Crouse Hinds was bought by Murray..or vice versa...and subsequently bought by Siemens. right?

So I have a Crouse hinds breaker labeled MP2020. I found a site that lists a Siemens Q2020 as a compatiable replacement. Subsequently Lowes sells Siemens breakers. Links below. So am I correct to beleive that the Q2020 breakers will replace the old crouse hinds MP2020 that I have now?

http://www.hardwareandtools.com/Siem...r-6943039.html

http://www.lowes.com/pd_12435-1318-Q...ProductDisplay
willy0314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:05 AM   #21
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,483
Rewards Points: 554
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by willy0314 View Post
The Box stores and www.lawoolley.com here in town were less then helpful.
Try Davis Electric, they are in Cheektowaga.
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 12:26 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Guam
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via ICQ to Pimbhiriumb
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Google Search Pimbhiriumb

LINK
Pimbhiriumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 01:59 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


what size breaker to use on a #8.aluminum
deasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 02:04 PM   #24
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,282
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by deasey
what size breaker to use on a #8.aluminum
Any size you wish. Sorry, this is not a search engine deasey. You went theough a lot of work to unburry an old thread, sign up to post a question that you must have asked on some search engine, which returned this threa in the results.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 03:09 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 07:48 PM
Replacement of breaker Spraiski Electrical 6 11-27-2006 08:45 PM
breaker replacement maintenance Electrical 2 09-30-2004 07:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.