Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2008, 08:08 PM   #1
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Hi everyone,

What is a suitable replacement for a Crouse-Hinds breaker?

I heard before that Siemens breakers are compatable, and they bought out Murray, which bought out Crouse Hinds. I also heard that Eaton / Cutler-Hammer's BR line is UL listed as a replacement for Crouse Hinds.

Which is correct?

Thanks in advance

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 08:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


http://www.snapdrive.net/files/507790/LT01221002E.pdf

I can't keep track of who bought who. All I know is that the are all basically the same breaker.


Last edited by 220/221; 01-27-2008 at 08:24 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 12:25 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Crouse-Hinds bought Murray, after Cooper Industries bought Crouse-Hinds the line was sold to Siemens, and they restored the Murray name, so a Murray breaker is the OEM choice.
Norcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 05:10 PM   #4
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcal View Post
Crouse-Hinds bought Murray, after Cooper Industries bought Crouse-Hinds the line was sold to Siemens, and they restored the Murray name, so a Murray breaker is the OEM choice.
Siemens and Murray breakers look exactly the same. EXACTLY. Just a different brand on the sticker...
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 05:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by junkcollector View Post
Siemens and Murray breakers look exactly the same. EXACTLY. Just a different brand on the sticker...

It looks like they come from the same factory. One gets a QP and the other gets an MP. I TRY to use the proper breaker...only been called on it once by an eagle eyed inspector. If I interchange a QP/MP I don't lose any sleep over it. I know they are the same thing.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 06:07 PM   #6
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Alright, thank you.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 06:55 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Siemens used the ITE design breakers they already had and dropped the Murray/Crouse-Hinds design,but unless you can come up with the paperwork saying it's permitted, it would be ill advised to use a ITE* or Siemens branded breaker in the panel.

* the ITE name has been dropped in favor of the Siemens name.
Norcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 07:36 PM   #8
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcal View Post
Siemens used the ITE design breakers they already had and dropped the Murray/Crouse-Hinds design,but unless you can come up with the paperwork saying it's permitted, it would be ill advised to use a ITE* or Siemens branded breaker in the panel.
So, a "Murray" brand breaker is okay, but a Siemens Isn't?
Quote:
Originally Posted by junkcollector
Siemens and Murray breakers look exactly the same. EXACTLY. Just a different brand on the sticker...
I'm getting pretty confused here...

I also heard that cutler hammer's BR line is supposed to be UL listed as a replacement.

Last edited by junkcollector; 01-28-2008 at 07:39 PM.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 08:22 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,041
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Hi Junk

Anything interesting going on over at self help?

Usually if the breaker isn't listed on the panel door it becomes a who bought who discussion. Best bet is to look to "classified breakers" for a solution. Cutler Hammer makes a "CL" breaker that interchanges with crouse hinds type MP. The interesting thing here is that unless the breaker is tested to be used in that panel by UL you cannot use it unless the manufacturer has it tested for replacement purposes and lists it as such or if it appears on the panel label. A catch 22 if I ever saw one.

Anyway here is a list out of one of my catalogs showing what panels a cutler classified will fit. The list also has gfci and so forth that is not shown.
Attached Thumbnails
Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker-classified-breaker-list.jpg  

Last edited by Stubbie; 01-28-2008 at 08:29 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 05:07 PM   #10
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Hi Junk

Anything interesting going on over at self help?
Ohh, not too much... Depends on what you think is interesting.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Anyway here is a list out of one of my catalogs showing what panels a cutler classified will fit. The list also has gfci and so forth that is not shown.
Thanks alot for the chart! That is exactly what I was looking for. Proof.

Now, I need to figure out where to find a C-H type "CL." I've never that particular model, but it sure looks a lot like a "BR" (pretty common)
The CL:

The BR:

I know it isn't the same, so I guess i'll have to track down one of those bad boys. I take breaker compatibility seriously because I don't want to be "caught with my pants down" in front of the inspector... Again.

Last edited by junkcollector; 01-29-2008 at 05:10 PM.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 05:35 PM   #11
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,041
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Hi Junk

Here is a place I found on a quick search. I think you would have a supplier locally. In my case my supply house gets these from another supplier a few blocks away. They would also have to get the side clip thin line challengers there also.

http://electrical.hardwarestore.com/...ELAID=42532087

Last edited by Stubbie; 01-29-2008 at 05:39 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2008, 06:32 PM   #12
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 359
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Thanks a bunch Stub. You're the man!
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 08:31 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


I have a Crouse Hinds MP panel (at least that what the tag says). I need a 30 amp (110) wiring for my RV unit. I was told that Murray is not the same, yet siemens is. Yet everything I've read and researched, shows the Murray as the same as the Crouse Hinds. I even took the breaker down and it matched up correctly, the Murrary is a MP 120/240 amp, am I safe to say this will be okay to use? Or must i find the orginial one? Thanks in advance
bigbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 08:43 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
http://www.snapdrive.net/files/507790/LT01221002E.pdf

I can't keep track of who bought who. All I know is that the are all basically the same breaker.
Most breakers, be they Murray,Cutler-Hammer & some GE were interchangeable. I stuck GE (1/2") into a Westinghouse panel. The only 2 major brands that were not interchangeable with the others and with themselves were FPE (RIP) and Square D!(No matter what) Don't Drink and Drive!!!

Last edited by spark plug; 07-19-2009 at 08:44 PM. Reason: Typographical error (Typo)
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 08:53 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Crouse-Hinds replacement breaker


Murray/Siemans.....whatever it takes.

It looks to me like they come from the same factory/mold.

Someone once posted a pic of a Murray AFCI breaker in a Siemans package.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 03:09 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 07:48 PM
Replacement of breaker Spraiski Electrical 6 11-27-2006 08:45 PM
breaker replacement maintenance Electrical 2 09-30-2004 07:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.