Crossed Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2013, 09:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Crossed circuit


I believe that I have a crossed circuit situation in my home: it requires two breakers to switch off power across three rooms, but switching on either breaker re-energizes all three rooms.

I would like to locate the source of the problem, but it is unclear what, exactly, I am looking for? Based on my reading of the various crossed circuit posts in this forum, it seems there may be multiple causes.

Thank you!

Advertisement

Ricky650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:54 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Crossed circuit


I would call an electrician for this one. This is not going to be easy for a homeowner without electrical experience. You are going to end up taking multiple boxes apart and leaving them apart until you find the problem.

Like demolition, taking apart is easy. Its the putting things back together that is going to be the difficult part.

If I was to guess, I'd guess the problem is in a multiple gang switch box, or a previous owner had a problem, and the trouble circuit was re-fed, and now you have two feeds.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.



Last edited by k_buz; 02-16-2013 at 09:58 AM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 09:57 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Crossed circuit


I'll add to my last post instead of editing it...

The problem could be absolutely anywhere on those two circuits. In order to trouble shoot this, power will need to be on, and that alone says "Call a professional".
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
J. V. (02-16-2013)
Old 02-16-2013, 01:57 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

Crossed circuit


I had a customer with that problem.

He had just bought the house and noticed he had a tripped breaker, but everything worked.
He reset the breaker and it tripped again.

I went over, disconnected the breaker and the wire sparked as it hit the panel and tripped another breaker.

Took me several hours to find the problem.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power in circuit, but not at outlets Sandmonkee Electrical 15 01-20-2013 01:11 PM
electrical light circuit crossed with recept circuit shakydoctor Electrical 7 01-01-2013 09:43 PM
Dead circuit, couldn't find problem so tied into second circuit zappy12 Electrical 25 12-13-2012 10:38 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 07:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts