Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2012, 04:06 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

cross talk on mwbc circuit


I have a mwbc where one is running my kitchen outlets, and the other is running a dedicated circuit for the disposal. the breakers are adjacent in the panel, so they are on opposite phase and share a common neutral and ground. I was updating the outlets and so turned off only one of the breakers. when I tested the line to make sure it was off, my voltmeter still read about 10 volts. Is this normal? there were no appliances connected to either circuit.

emty22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 04:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,382
Rewards Points: 1,120
Default

cross talk on mwbc circuit


Yes, that sounds normal. The combination of a high impedance meter input and inductive coupling in the AC wires causes this. If you were to plug a lamp into one of your kitchen outlets while the breaker is off the voltage should disappear as you are placing a low impedance path from the hot to a grounded conductor.

It is good practice to turn both breakers off when working on a MWBC.

zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:42 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,599
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

cross talk on mwbc circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
It is good practice to turn both breakers off when working on a MWBC.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 07:55 AM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

cross talk on mwbc circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
It is good practice to turn both breakers off when working on a MWBC.
For sure! A MWBC is NOT DEAD unless both breakers are off.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
SD515 (03-14-2012)
Old 03-14-2012, 09:10 AM   #5
Member
 
Ravenworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 598
Rewards Points: 500
Default

cross talk on mwbc circuit


I thought MWBC circuits were to have ties on the handles by code? At least thats what you guys taught me.
Ravenworks is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ravenworks For This Useful Post:
J. V. (03-14-2012), mpoulton (03-15-2012)
Old 03-14-2012, 09:16 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

cross talk on mwbc circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenworks View Post
I thought MWBC circuits were to have ties on the handles by code? At least thats what you guys taught me.
Depends on the code cycle when installed.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2012, 12:54 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Thumbs up

cross talk on mwbc circuit


thanks for the assurance. this house was built in 1976, so at the time no breaker bar was required.

thanks again.

emty22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crosstalk, mwbc


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 07:09 AM
Dispute: Oven malfunction after h/w guys used the circuit rational Appliances 18 05-17-2011 11:37 PM
Planning circuit layout for barn tbeaulieu Electrical 8 04-08-2010 10:38 AM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 07:46 PM
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 06:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.