Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2012, 09:48 AM   #16
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,698
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Some places here a building permit will trigger the need to upgrade the smoke alarms to current standards.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:05 AM   #17
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Some places here a building permit will trigger the need to upgrade the smoke alarms to current standards.
Even if it includes 'hardship' on the owner? I cant see how they can force you to rewire part of the house.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:09 AM   #18
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,698
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Might be hard to claim hardship when they have money for an addition to be added to the house.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:12 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Guys, there is a provision in the code that says you must interconnect all the smoke alarms when doing a remodel...BUT...there is an exception that says if you have to remove drywall to do so, then you do NOT have to bring all the smoke alarms up to code (being interconnected and hard-wired).

I have actually already discussed this with the inspector, and he is OK with me NOT interconnecting all of the smoke detectors in the house.
patented is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:14 AM   #20
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Might be hard to claim hardship when they have money for an addition to be added to the house.
Think of this, you are making someone open up finished areas of a house, that could run in the thousands of dollars if not more, depending on the size of the house and difficulty of the upgrade... anyways... here is what the state of CT has to say about it...



(Amd) R313.1.1 Alterations and additions. When alterations or additions requiring a permit occur, or when one or more sleeping rooms are added or created in existing dwellings, the entire dwelling shall be provided with smoke detectors located as required for new dwellings. The smoke detectors shall have a power source in accordance with Section R313.2.
Exceptions:

1. The smoke detectors may be battery operated and are not required to be interconnected when other remodeling considerations do not require the removal of the appropriate wall and ceiling coverings to facilitate concealed interconnected wiring.

2. Alterations to the exterior surfaces of dwellings including, but not limited to, re-roofing, re-siding, window replacement and the construction of decks without roofs, are exempt from the requirements of this section.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:17 AM   #21
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Quote:
Originally Posted by patented View Post
Guys, there is a provision in the code that says you must interconnect all the smoke alarms when doing a remodel...BUT...there is an exception that says if you have to remove drywall to do so, then you do NOT have to bring all the smoke alarms up to code (being interconnected and hard-wired).

I have actually already discussed this with the inspector, and he is OK with me NOT interconnecting all of the smoke detectors in the house.
Sorry to hikack the thread, we were just discussing requirements... not entirely directing the comments at your scenario.

Since a smoke is NOT required in the kitchen, why not just throw a battery operated smoke in the room off the kitchen? I wouldn't want that thing going off every time I cooked.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:05 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 228
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


I noticed only 2 S3 switches. How many entrances are their to the kitchen. Can't really tell from the diagram.

Also, in keeping with Stickyboy's advice about running the 12/3 in case you need it later, have you thought about under and over cabinet lighting. Real easy to run those wires now vs later.

And he mentioned an instant hot water tap. Great idea. Wife resisted, but now loves hers.

In my sink base where the feed for the D/W comes in, it goes into a box with a receptacle. Leg goes out to the D/W and the disposal and instant hot plugged into the receptacle. Probably not code, but it's a 15-year old house.
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:08 AM   #23
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Quote:
Originally Posted by herdfan View Post

In my sink base where the feed for the D/W comes in, it goes into a box with a receptacle. Leg goes out to the D/W and the disposal and instant hot plugged into the receptacle. Probably not code, but it's a 15-year old house.
I like to install cords and receptacles for the disconnect means. Otherwise you're suppose to have breaker locks, i've yet to ever see one installed.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:10 AM   #24
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Quote:
Originally Posted by herdfan View Post
I noticed only 2 S3 switches. How many entrances are their to the kitchen. Can't really tell from the diagram.

You know you're not required to have switches by the doors, right? its strictly a design issue. You could use the breakers if you felt so inclined to do so.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:47 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Ever thought about pendant lighting over the island for additional lighting options... so you do not have to have all of the recessed lights on when you are preparing a meal and only need an area of lighting? Also, when you put the smoke alarm on the lighting circuit, be sure that you do not install it on a SWITCHED wire.

Last edited by diyer111; 08-30-2012 at 11:49 AM.
diyer111 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to diyer111 For This Useful Post:
SpringRubber (06-30-2013)
Old 08-30-2012, 11:47 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You know you're not required to have switches by the doors, right? its strictly a design issue. You could use the breakers if you felt so inclined to do so.
I have put the switches by the two "main" openings to the kitchen. The other openings are rooms that someone would have already had to have gone through the kitchen to get to.

Also, to go to one of the previous poster's points regarding "hardship," I do have money for the remodel, but not necessarily for a whole-house rewire and re-drywall. Luckily, the exception doesnt relate to "hardship" but rather to opening up walls. Interestingly, if I had an attic above the bedrooms, they would consider that easy enough to make you run the interconnected alarms.
patented is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 11:54 AM   #27
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Quote:
Originally Posted by patented View Post
I have put the switches by the two "main" openings to the kitchen. The other openings are rooms that someone would have already had to have gone through the kitchen to get to.

Also, to go to one of the previous poster's points regarding "hardship," I do have money for the remodel, but not necessarily for a whole-house rewire and re-drywall. Luckily, the exception doesnt relate to "hardship" but rather to opening up walls. Interestingly, if I had an attic above the bedrooms, they would consider that easy enough to make you run the interconnected alarms.
Pretty much what CT wants, get them where its readily accessible without disturbing the existing wall coverings... which seems fair to me, but still big brother too... that's our government, always making sure were safe as a bug in a rug.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:01 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Pretty much what CT wants, get them where its readily accessible without disturbing the existing wall coverings... which seems fair to me, but still big brother too... that's our government, always making sure were safe as a bug in a rug.
In an effort to derail my own thread, I saw that First Alert has wireless "interconnected" alarms out now. They can be hardwired or battery operated. Anyone tried these as an alternative to the regular interconnected alarms?
patented is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 12:03 PM   #29
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Quote:
Originally Posted by patented View Post
In an effort to derail my own thread, I saw that First Alert has wireless "interconnected" alarms out now. They can be hardwired or battery operated. Anyone tried these as an alternative to the regular interconnected alarms?
Yes, I use them often... comes in handy when a inspector insists a office is a bedroom and a smoke wasnt roughed in....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 07:34 PM   #30
Member
 
Rochsolid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Critique my Kitchen Wiring Schematic


Why do you have GFI everywhere? In Canada's they are only required if you are within 1.5m o a sink. Also I would run 12/2 to my counter plugs, 20 amp breakers and split T receptacles

Rochsolid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen Wiring Clarifications sullivja Electrical 30 08-05-2012 08:20 AM
Can't figure out kitchen light wiring... 19mquinn79 Electrical 9 09-23-2011 04:55 PM
kitchen island outlet wiring problem colarama Electrical 3 09-22-2011 05:51 AM
Wiring inside kitchen island? vsheetz Electrical 14 05-12-2009 01:49 PM
Kitchen Wiring Questions Chazbe Electrical 22 04-11-2008 04:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.