Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2012, 01:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 97
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


My 90A double-pole full width GE circuit breaker casing is cracked. It starts at the handle opening and runs down one side to the base, moving away from the bus stabs and towards the wire terminals, as far as I can tell without removing it from the panel. Should I consider this an urgent replacement, or can I swap it out next time I'm doing work in the panel?

Thanks

chemman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 05:16 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,247
Rewards Points: 508
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


We would need a picture, but I doubt it is cracked. Most of the double pole breakers are two single pole breakers riveted together and Handle tied.

danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 07:04 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


If it is indeed cracked, you need to replace it right away!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Code05 (05-18-2012), rrolleston (05-18-2012)
Old 05-18-2012, 12:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 97
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker




Does that clear it up? And I was wrong about the location of the crack, it runs right along the corner toward the bus stabs. Guess my memory isn't so great in the middle of the night, huh?
chemman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 12:35 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


I would replace it now. And I would turn the main off when removing the old breaker.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 12:36 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


I would replace that one ASAP.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 01:33 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


Seeing this small picture, I am curious what the rest of the panel looks like.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 03:14 PM   #8
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


The breaker should be replaced soon but it also doesn't look like 90-amp rated wiring coming off that breaker? Looks like #6, maybe #4 but still not 90-amp rated.
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 05:24 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 97
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker




Crap, I should have rotated it. The wiring going to the 90A breaker is #4 AWG 3 conductor and is feeding my air handler which contains my emergency heater banks. The air handler has two double pole breakers on the front, a 30A and a 60A. I'm curious as to the comments on the panel.
chemman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 05:31 PM   #10
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


#4 cable is only rated for 70-amps
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 05:45 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 97
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


I thought #4 was good for 90A at 90C. Of course I'm assuming that circuit is entirely rated for 90C. Of course this will mean the new circuit breaker will be even more expensive.
chemman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 06:03 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


#4 THHN is rated for 85 Amps, at 70 degrees. Since the next standard size breaker is 90A you can use a 90A breaker.

That doesn't look like #4, looks like #6 THWN.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 06:12 PM   #13
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


For cable/romex you use the TW column in 310.16

#6 (cable/romex) = 55-amp and #4 (cable/romex) = 70-amps

#4 THWN = 85-amps
__________________
Answers based on the mood I am in when you ask!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 06:20 PM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


You are correct...I don't equate #4 and NM...in fact, I've never even seen 4-3 NM cable.

And come to think of it, if the 6-3 shown in the picture is fused at 60A or less on the other end, it being on a 90A breaker in this panel is of no concern.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 09:58 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Cracked Circuit Breaker


They make up to 2-3 NM-B romex but it's a bear to work with.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New wiring tripping breaker on another circuit? Kinggofg Electrical 11 04-26-2012 01:36 AM
Backfeed Circuit Breaker Knucklehead_BW Electrical 13 01-11-2012 09:17 PM
circuit breaker? blueandyellow Electrical 7 01-30-2011 10:27 PM
Circuit BReaker Question - breaker didn't trip and no power thru the circuit Ronin_67 Electrical 2 08-08-2008 06:06 AM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.