Coxial Cable Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2013, 03:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Coxial cable help


I'm redoing all electrical in my 1901 Victorian and ready to pull coaxial cable but confused if I should get the standard RG6 or the RG6 quad kind.

I'm not sure what kind to use.

Advertisement

butterkups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 03:51 PM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,651
Rewards Points: 2,616
Default

Coxial cable help


Regular RG6....you don't need the quad

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 03:58 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Coxial cable help


Thanks. I'm just running cable for my HDTV in three rooms.

How about cable type for my Internet connection ? RG6 still?
butterkups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 04:05 PM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,651
Rewards Points: 2,616
Default

Coxial cable help


Quote:
Originally Posted by butterkups View Post
Thanks. I'm just running cable for my HDTV in three rooms.

How about cable type for my Internet connection ? RG6 still?
Internet? I'm going to assume you have cable for both internet and TC.

Yes....that would be RG6 as well.

Assuming you have cable...a little background.

The internet portion of your cable typically sits on the upper freq spectrum of the bandwidth...close to 1Ghz. Hence, you want to make sure you use a cable splitter that has at least a 1Ghz freq range.

Typically, your cable comes in...goes to a splitter....one output goes to your cable modem, the other end to the TV or cable box. If more than one TV, then you will have a splitter with more than 2 outputs.

Caution, everyone of those output ports drops the signal by 3db (half power)...so if your using a 5 port splitter (4 outputs)...each output is going to only have 1/4'th power as your incoming signal.

Anyway....after your cable modem you have an Ethernet cable...this will either go to an Ethernet switch or, if your like most of us...a wireless router. For the Ethernet, Car5E or Cat6 is fine.

Hopefully I have totally confused you now.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 04:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New York City
Posts: 477
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Coxial cable help


If you don't run the cable along power lines (I think you're supposed to stay 6" away) you probably don't need the quad. If you do, I personally think quad is a good idea. There's a lack of good information available to the general public about when quad is recommended. There's highly technical information about the effectiveness of different shielding, but that does the average consumer no good.
Dorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 04:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Coxial cable help


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16

Internet? I'm going to assume you have cable for both internet and TC.

Yes....that would be RG6 as well.

Assuming you have cable...a little background.

The internet portion of your cable typically sits on the upper freq spectrum of the bandwidth...close to 1Ghz. Hence, you want to make sure you use a cable splitter that has at least a 1Ghz freq range.

Typically, your cable comes in...goes to a splitter....one output goes to your cable modem, the other end to the TV or cable box. If more than one TV, then you will have a splitter with more than 2 outputs.

Caution, everyone of those output ports drops the signal by 3db (half power)...so if your using a 5 port splitter (4 outputs)...each output is going to only have 1/4'th power as your incoming signal.

Anyway....after your cable modem you have an Ethernet cable...this will either go to an Ethernet switch or, if your like most of us...a wireless router. For the Ethernet, Car5E or Cat6 is fine.

Hopefully I have totally confused you now.
Thanks. It was a big help.
butterkups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 04:21 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,414
Rewards Points: 2,490
Default

Coxial cable help


Pull Cat-6 for hdmi over Cat-6/ethernet wire. That way if you wish to locate the boxes in a central poit, vs at the hd sets themselves, it will make thing easy in the long tun.

Also helps if you have a smart tv at a location, you are already set.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sound out of cable box amakarevic Home Theater 11 05-18-2012 11:26 AM
Need help sizing Generator cable dgajr Electrical 2 07-20-2010 01:07 AM
Evaluating a kinked cable dave11 Electrical 5 05-09-2010 11:20 AM
Coaxial Cable Junction Box/Split apriest Electrical 19 07-23-2009 09:33 PM
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 07:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts