Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-23-2010, 10:22 AM   #31
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,239
Share |
Default

Counting wires in a box?


There are many homes around here with the older plaster walls. I have used the box "secutanudu" described also. One trick I do is to replace the screws that come with this box with some that are 1/2" longer, that way I can back them out a bit longer to get them into those dang-blasted plaster walls, then they tighten right up.

Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Thurman For This Useful Post:
jerseyguy1996 (12-24-2010)
Old 12-23-2010, 10:24 AM   #32
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

Counting wires in a box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
There are many homes around here with the older plaster walls. I have used the box "secutanudu" described also. One trick I do is to replace the screws that come with this box with some that are 1/2" longer, that way I can back them out a bit longer to get them into those dang-blasted plaster walls, then they tighten right up.

So I guess those boxes work in both Albany, NY and Albany, GA!
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 07:57 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 143
Default

Counting wires in a box?


Those boxes look exactly like what I need. Thanks for posting that picture!
jerseyguy1996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 08:48 AM   #34
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Counting wires in a box?


I think you said that the wires were accessable in the attic? If so you could leave your box in the wall and put a jbox in the attic. pull one wire up leave one. and make all connections above.

Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 02:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 01:35 PM
Dimmer wiring in a box with 3 black and 3 white wires and a pink wire to boot! everender Electrical 9 02-15-2009 09:24 AM
Too many wires? fw2007 Electrical 10 06-28-2008 11:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.