Cost Of Rewiring - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2011, 10:42 PM   #16
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Cost of rewiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Btw, I have yet to walk into a home that has no kitchen or baths but only a bedroom or two.
Go back and re-read. I said some levels will only have those items. NOT whole homes.

A "level" with a kitchen will cost MUCH more to wire than one with a few bedrooms and a bath.

Sounds like "flat rate"pricing to me. Some jobs the customer makes out, others the customer gets screwed.
Either that or the company makes out like bandits on change orders and extras.

Advertisement

Speedy Petey is online now  
Old 03-12-2011, 11:06 PM   #17
DIY staff

 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 22,326
Rewards Points: 3,290
Default

Cost of rewiring


All right---I think this post has run its course----(picture a grumpy old man with his hands on his hips)

Go play outside for while,before you knock down a lamp or something!
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
Doc Holliday (03-13-2011)
Old 03-13-2011, 09:13 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE Mass
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Cost of rewiring


The closest any of us can come to base-line pricing is square-foot costs.
And that (normally) can only apply to typical wood framing construction, normal ceilings, and a base assumption of lighting boxes, a switched outlet in bedrooms. etc.etc.
Re-wiring is too difficult to ever guess at without knowing the construction.
It's what keeps the construction trades interesting.

Rewiring a house made of concrete that has pipes from box to box will cost one thing.
Rewiring a house that is horse-hair plaster on lath with finished crown moldings or wood walls is a completely different ball game.

A guy I worked for years ago quoted wiring a new house from a set of plans.
He failed to notice the 1st floor had 10' ceilings.....that floor took much longer a result.
It's why you can't give a quote over the phone, much less on-line.
MB
Do It Right is offline  
Old 03-13-2011, 11:54 PM   #19
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Cost of rewiring



Advertisement

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Saturday Cowboy For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (03-14-2011)
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Installation Cost philstewart HVAC 32 04-13-2014 02:44 PM
What is the cost of adding brick ledge to new construction? toddtx Building & Construction 4 01-13-2011 07:04 AM
Discussion on Rewiring cost busman Off Topic 8 09-07-2010 01:42 PM
Hot Water Heater Installation Cost philstewart Plumbing 6 10-29-2008 06:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts