Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-19-2006, 03:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Cost of a box swap?


I'm having a box switched out. Right now it's got 16 breakers, and all are filled up. I need room for some more circuits, so I'm having a 30 or 40 circuit box installed. I need the 2 ground rods installed out back, as well as the ground wire run from the water ground 20 feet to the box. The basement is unfinished, so the electrician won't be contending with any drywall. A couple electricians said the wires out back running to the meter won't need to be touched. Any idea on average price? Am I leaving anything out that'd help you guys gives me an average estimate?

Thanks!
Jay

CuriousJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 05:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Cost of a box swap?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CuriousJay View Post
Am I leaving anything out that'd help you guys gives me an average estimate?

Thanks!
Jay

Yeah, where do you live?

Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 06:35 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,782
Default

Cost of a box swap?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CuriousJay View Post
A couple electricians said the wires out back running to the meter won't need to be touched.
I seriously doubt this! If you only have a 16 space panel now upgrading to a 200 amp (40 space) requires replacement of ALL service equipment rated for 100 amps.

Price? $1400 - $3000, depending on location.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 08:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Cost of a box swap?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CuriousJay View Post
A couple electricians said the wires out back running to the meter won't need to be touched.
Perhaps the electricians said this because they are not allowed to touch it(power company's wires).

Perhaps you caught them thinking out loud, meaning if that wire is big enough then they don't need to have the power company come out and change it, meaning they don't have to call an inspector, meaning they are probably not licesned.
Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 11:31 AM   #5
Electrical contractor
 
RobertWilber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 44
Default

Cost of a box swap?


It may be their intention to replace your panel with a thirty-circuit 100-amp loadcenter. If your cables are ok and the load is acceptable, there is no reason to install a 200-amp service.
With permit and inspection, it would cost $1000 here, more if you have to change the tail to the meter. If the meter doesn't survive the cable change [50/50 chance] you are going for the whole job - maybe $1500.
RobertWilber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 09:07 AM   #6
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,330
Default

Cost of a box swap?


Question. Say like the meter did need to be changed. Is that a free service from the electric company or do they charge for that. I really like those new digital ones that got out. Mine is the old spinning kind. In the event its not free how much does the electric company slam you for that?
747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 07:39 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,782
Default

Cost of a box swap?


What purpose would that digital meter serve you as a homeowner?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 12:08 AM   #8
747
registered
 
747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Illinois (kankakee county)
Posts: 1,330
Default

Cost of a box swap?


I just said i think there cool looking. They have one mounted on the side of the dollar store. You cant miss it its on the parking lot side of the store and you have to walk by it.
747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 04:53 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,387
Default

Cost of a box swap?


Some of the new digital meters allow the POCO to charge you a lower rate during low usage times, at night for example to heat hot water. I doubt they would change it for free unless it was part of an overall upgrade they were doing to their entire system.

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new home foundation cost wdsfr1968 Building & Construction 8 03-03-2010 10:59 AM
New house purchase - work needed - how much will it cost? mchu6am4 Building & Construction 1 03-10-2007 06:10 AM
New home electical cost wdsfr1968 Electrical 8 08-15-2006 06:33 PM
New home plumbing cost wdsfr1968 Plumbing 7 07-28-2006 09:41 AM
Covered Patio Cost? RBPD5015 Building & Construction 2 04-23-2006 11:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.