Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2011, 01:54 PM   #16
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 700
Share |
Default

Correcting Ground/Neutral bar issue


as long as you use more thqp breakers ( no gfci or afci breakers), you're good with what you have

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 02:53 PM   #17
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

Correcting Ground/Neutral bar issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
I don't know if that's Code compliant (with that many grounds wired together under a wirenut). Sometimes, I'll do this with 2 or 3 ground wires, but I don't use a wirenut; I just tightly wrap them parallell to each other, in a sort of figure 8, with one of them going to the grounding lug (this may be a violation, I've never looked it up). I'll have to check, or maybe someone else can say.

Sparks, using a wire nut to connect the grounds (or current carrying conductors) is code compliant, your twist method is not. You can also use a crimp type connector rated for connecting the grounding conductors.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 04:59 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Correcting Ground/Neutral bar issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Sparks, using a wire nut to connect the grounds (or current carrying conductors) is code compliant, your twist method is not. You can also use a crimp type connector rated for connecting the grounding conductors.
yep, I suspected as much. I'm off to the basement
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 06:23 PM   #19
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Correcting Ground/Neutral bar issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by rightit View Post
So then, it really doesn't matter if the neutral and ground wires share the same grounding bar (in the main panel)?

Also, if I do go with an aftermarket grounding bar to place along the bottom part of the panel (presumably screwed to the panel itself), what type of screws should I use for mounting?
I can't see for sure where it goes but the Grounding Electrode Conductor is to be connected to the same bar that the neutral line from the transformer is connected which is the RH bar.

Also, why not just rearrange the ground and neutral lines so they reach either of the existing bars? You can put two ground wires under one screw but you can only have one white neutral under a screw. Those that won't reach just extend them with a wire-nutted pigtail. You are planning to upgrade the panel anyway.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 02:18 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 244
Default

Correcting Ground/Neutral bar issue


Apologies for the delay in response...life and also time to to decide what direction to take. As was mentioned as a possibility, I think I'll need to add a sub panel, as even if I remove the 2-pole breaker for the shop, I'll only have a total of 5 1/2 size slots. Given that I need to run 2 new circuits (arc control required by code for new circuits) and a GFI, I'll think I'll need 6 free slots for the full sized breakers? Is this a correct assumption?

Also, I'm not quite sure I understand the neutral/ground relationship...i.e., ok to have main neutrals & grnds on the same bar, but not in a sub panel? Can someone provide a simple primer of sorts that will explain why that is? It seems to me that the neutrals and grnds should be isolated from each other altogether.

Thanks!

rightit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flood/Drainage Issue On Garage Man Door altc81 Building & Construction 2 04-17-2011 08:19 AM
Interlock Paver Issue cbadrik Landscaping & Lawn Care 2 07-27-2009 07:29 PM
HELP - with my breaker box. Interesting issue. LordX Electrical 75 02-23-2009 03:14 PM
Cable issue or wiring issue? Duchey Electrical 57 12-15-2008 01:34 PM
Unusual electrical issue LosLobo Electrical 7 11-10-2008 01:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.