Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2013, 08:28 PM   #16
Doityesterday
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to papachuck
Share |
Default

correct wiring to subpanel in garage


Are you all set now? A stupid question is one that is not asked do not assume when it comes to electric. if your sub panel already has A common ground bar and your using 4 wires. hook one ground wire size #2 to neutral buss bar and the other ground left to the ground bar. this is were all your bare grounds go and neutral white wires go on the buss bars.


Last edited by papachuck; 01-17-2013 at 08:41 PM.
papachuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:30 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

correct wiring to subpanel in garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by papachuck View Post
Are you all set now? A stupid question is one that is not asked do not assume when it comes to electric.
No he is not all set SER cable is not rated for underground use.

338.12 Uses Not Permitted.
(A) Service-Entrance Cable. Service-Entrance Cable (SE) shall not be used under the following conditions or in the following locations.
(2) Underground with or without a raceway
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:30 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

correct wiring to subpanel in garage


Papachuck-

thanks for your suggestions... yes the house has 2 rods and #6 CU. planning on doing the same at the shop/garage. 2 copper ground rods, connected to the ground bus in the subpanel box and bonded to the frame. and correct I have to buy something to make a ground bus... I can see the raised bumps and screw holes in the subpanel frame where the busses go in. and just to be clear, you said in your earlier reply that the feeder ground connects with the neutral bus in the subpanel?
benjeremiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:57 PM   #19
Doityesterday
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to papachuck
Default

correct wiring to subpanel in garage


ok I see you still have the wrong wire . to make it simple you need 100amp UF direct underground .tell me if you plan on using 3 or 4 wires from main house.
papachuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:59 PM   #20
Doityesterday
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to papachuck
Default

correct wiring to subpanel in garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
No he is not all set SER cable is not rated for underground use.

338.12 Uses Not Permitted.
(A) Service-Entrance Cable. Service-Entrance Cable (SE) shall not be used under the following conditions or in the following locations.
(2) Underground with or without a raceway
your right my bad missed that thank you.
papachuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:04 PM   #21
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

correct wiring to subpanel in garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by papachuck View Post
if your sub panel already has A common ground bar and your using 4 wires. hook one ground wire size #2 to neutral buss bar and the other ground left to the ground bar. this is were all your bare grounds go and neutral white wires go on the buss bars.
Square D panel do not use that arrangement of bus bars. The ground bus is an additional purchase item. They mount on raised bumps on the back of the panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:08 PM   #22
Doityesterday
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to papachuck
Default

correct wiring to subpanel in garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Square D panel do not use that arrangement of bus bars. The ground bus is an additional purchase item. They mount on raised bumps on the back of the panel.
your right there but not if he purchased or picked it up from someone that had already installed one.

Last edited by papachuck; 01-17-2013 at 09:10 PM. Reason: A picture tells A thousand word's
papachuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:47 PM   #23
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

correct wiring to subpanel in garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by papachuck View Post
ok I see you still have the wrong wire . to make it simple you need 100amp UF direct underground .tell me if you plan on using 3 or 4 wires from main house.
He does not have a choice. All sub-panel feeds must be 4 wire.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 10:18 PM   #24
Doityesterday
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to papachuck
Default

correct wiring to subpanel in garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
He does not have a choice. All sub-panel feeds must be 4 wire.
thank you but don't read just the last comment read up.was just making sure what he intended on doing.but again thanx

papachuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring garage outlets from a subpanel ACR_SCOUT Electrical 24 12-01-2012 05:27 PM
Detached Garage Wiring elpht_man Electrical 5 09-23-2011 06:31 AM
wiring from existing panel to new garage al99m Electrical 8 07-29-2009 08:42 PM
Critique my wiring plan for my garage tigereye Electrical 10 03-24-2009 09:55 PM
Yet another garage subpanel thread (w/ pictures!) MattOverMinder Electrical 9 07-25-2008 02:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.