Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-21-2009, 12:33 PM   #16
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Share |
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


He can't use a regular outlet he would need an isolated grounding outlet. The ground is isolated from the yoke of the outlet.

HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 12:58 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
He can't use a regular outlet he would need an isolated grounding outlet. The ground is isolated from the yoke of the outlet.
Would those be the orange (maybe other colors too) outlets ?
I actually have some, never knew that was there specific use
I was going to use them thru the house for a circuit that could be supplied power by my Generator
Just wanted them to be easily identified from others
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 01:01 PM   #18
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


Correct Dave, they do come in colors and when they do they have a triangle. How is everything with you did you get a lot of snow.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 03:23 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
He can't use a regular outlet he would need an isolated grounding outlet. The ground is isolated from the yoke of the outlet.
What does that have to do with this question? Isn't a metal box also required for IGRs?

I was just reading your post and have a question. You mentioned that you connected the isolated ground to the existing ground bar in the panel. Is this the same ground bar that has the neutral (white) and ground wires attached?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 03:37 PM   #20
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,534
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


A IGR is a waste of money when using NM. Just run a dedicated circuit using plastic boxes. You get the same thing.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 03:40 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
A IGR is a waste of money when using NM. Just run a dedicated circuit using plastic boxes. You get the same thing.
I was eventually getting to that.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 04:26 PM   #22
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


Jerry, except my apology, I am the real HIVOLT. When I left for work this morning I did not shut down the website. It seems that my son who is working as an apprentice thinks he's a know at all when it comes to the code. Plus he has never done any residential work so he does not have a clue. The company he works for only does commercial. Again I apologize and I will make sure it never happens again.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 04:39 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
Jerry, except my apology, I am the real HIVOLT. When I left for work this morning I did not shut down the website. It seems that my son who is working as an apprentice thinks he's a know at all when it comes to the code. Plus he has never done any residential work so he does not have a clue. The company he works for only does commercial. Again I apologize and I will make sure it never happens again.
Ok. Didn't mean anything negative about the post. I was just wondering what the concern was about the bonded neutral/ground bars at the service panel. I thought I was missing something.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 04:52 PM   #24
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


Let me explain what my son was thinking. A while back he helped me install an isolated grounding grounding panel and outlets. This was for a store that needed all the computers on isolated grounding outlets. We gave the panel its own isolated ground bar and went to building steel for the ground. He also failed to mention that we used 12/2 IG cable instead of MC. So he figured if it had to be done this way in commercial work it must be done this way in residential.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 04:54 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


I was thinking isolated grounds as this one was wired were not much better then a normal run of wire - from what I have read

What would be the proper way/wire to run an isolated ground...conduit & THWN ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 05:03 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I was thinking isolated grounds as this one was wired were not much better then a normal run of wire - from what I have read

What would be the proper way/wire to run an isolated ground...conduit & THWN ?
In residential? Run a homerun dedicated circuit with a plastic box, regular outlet, and NM. There, you have your isolated circuit. This is unless you have the Black and Decker wiring book. Then you must the the "special" red wire. Then you have a super isolated ground circuit.

Last edited by jerryh3; 12-21-2009 at 05:07 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 05:06 PM   #27
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


Actually you have a dedicated circuit in residential.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 05:16 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I was thinking isolated grounds as this one was wired were not much better then a normal run of wire - from what I have read

What would be the proper way/wire to run an isolated ground...conduit & THWN ?
Yes. They have been shown to be pretty much useless in modern electrical systems. You could use Type AC cable if you wanted to. Check out NEC 250.146(D) and the IEEE 1100 Powering and grounding Electronic systems book.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 05:17 PM   #29
CodeEnforcer
 
HIVOLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


In commercial work which is 90% of my business I use IG cable unless otherwise specified. A problem using EMT is that a lot of guys do not tighten the fitting enough and over time these can become loose and you can lose your ground. The same goes for rigid conduit, unless you are going to spend the time cutting and threading you have to use set screw or compression fitting. The code does not specify that EMT/RMC is to be used for IG outlets.
HIVOLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 05:23 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

Correct wiring diagram for 1 story house


Quote:
Originally Posted by HIVOLT View Post
In commercial work which is 90% of my business I use IG cable unless otherwise specified. A problem using EMT is that a lot of guys do not tighten the fitting enough and over time these can become loose and you can lose your ground. The same goes for rigid conduit, unless you are going to spend the time cutting and threading you have to use set screw or compression fitting. The code does not specify that EMT/RMC is to be used for IG outlets.
Is IG cable just MC with an extra ground wire?

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
question, running cable, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a HVAC control wiring diagram garya505 HVAC 3 10-09-2009 10:01 PM
wiring diagram question screenporch21 Electrical 10 11-30-2008 08:14 PM
Wiring diagram for this basement eternalmma Electrical 9 03-31-2008 06:39 PM
Wiring diagram, would this work firemanpato Electrical 10 01-07-2008 04:33 PM
Cost of replacing old knob ant tube wiring in house bikerboy337 Electrical 3 03-26-2005 08:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.