Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2009, 09:15 AM   #16
Family Handyman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

Is this correct regarding 20amp circuit and 15amp receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
By code the door bell transformer can't be on the circuit in option 1.
So its best to use option #2 ?
diymonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2009, 10:38 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Is this correct regarding 20amp circuit and 15amp receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by diymonkey View Post
I compared the wire gauge to some #14 wire I had laying around, it looked bigger.
Keep in mind that older 14g (and #12 too) wire is thicker then todays wire
The jacket of the wire should be labeled
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2009, 06:57 PM   #18
Electrical Inspector
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3
Smile

Is this correct regarding 20amp circuit and 15amp receptacles


Quote:
Originally Posted by diymonkey View Post
I was told that its standard to put 15amp receptacles on a 20amp circuit as long as its a duplex receptacle and/or more than 1 thing is running on the circuit.

Here is my current config:
20amp circuit breaker
  • 1 switch to wall light in bathroom 1
  • 1 switch to wall light in bathroom 2
  • 1 doorbell
Here is what I want to do
  • 1 switch to wall light in bathroom 1
  • 1 switch to wall light in bathroom 2
  • 1 doorbell
  • 1 switch to ceiling vent in bathroom 1
  • 1 switch to celiing vent in bathroom 2
  • 1 duplex GFCI receptacle in bathroom 1
  • 1 duplex GFCI receptacle in bathroom 2
So is it true that I can use 15amp GFCIs and switches on that circuit?
You certainly may the only restictions apply to single outlets. That is to say a single device on a single yolk. A GFI receptacle is the same as a duplex receptacle.
Power Up is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit advice for finishing basement Straightgrain Electrical 16 03-25-2009 09:07 AM
Can I use a 20amp outlet receptical on a 15amp circuit? abefroman Electrical 17 01-18-2009 09:57 PM
Attic fan and skylights on same circuit ok? shadango Electrical 7 06-09-2008 02:50 PM
Conflicting Circuit Info!?? BenBil Electrical 9 01-15-2007 08:26 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.