Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-18-2008, 01:16 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Cornfused

I have installed a can light at the bottom of a dark stairwell to the existing light at the top operated by two 3 way switches (one down and one at the top) I strung the wire from the new can light to the switchbox at the bottom because it's the closest junction to the new light. I'm having trouble getting the new light to operate in tandem with both switches. At this point the bottom switch will turn on & off both fixtures from the bottom switch but the top switch only turns off the top fixture leaving the bottom one on.
I bought a basic wiring manual to try to clarify my dilema but, it doesn't exactly cover my predicament. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
PS I'm a forty year veteran flooring contractor. I'll be happy to answer any questions in that arena.

dodleraspoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 03:24 PM   #2
Power Gen/RS Engineer

Cornfused

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodleraspoon View Post
I have installed a can light at the bottom of a dark stairwell to the existing light at the top operated by two 3 way switches (one down and one at the top) I strung the wire from the new can light to the switchbox at the bottom because it's the closest junction to the new light. I'm having trouble getting the new light to operate in tandem with both switches. At this point the bottom switch will turn on & off both fixtures from the bottom switch but the top switch only turns off the top fixture leaving the bottom one on.