Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2013, 01:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Casper40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Core Lighting Controls #OS306U Auto sensor light


I'm kind of new to this electrical stuff but anyway, here is my problem....

I've bought a Core Lighting Controls #OS306U Auto sensor light. I switched the power off at the breaker box, then unhooked the old light switch and hooked up the Core Lighting Controls #OS306U Auto sensor light. Flipped the breaker back on and the light in the bedroom was on! Great right!?? Well problem is I can't turn the light off.

Any ideas?

Casper40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 02:01 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Core Lighting Controls #OS306U Auto sensor light


You didn't connect the new light fixture the same as the old one was connected.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 03:30 PM   #3
Banned Electrician
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA, Master Electrician
Posts: 216
Rewards Points: 176
Default

Core Lighting Controls #OS306U Auto sensor light


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You didn't connect the new light fixture the same as the old one was connected.
I'll bet he pulled out all the wires and took them apart.
__________________
"Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem."
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 07:39 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Casper40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Core Lighting Controls #OS306U Auto sensor light


As I said I am new to this and not sure what I'm doing. What I did was turn of power to the switch, took the old one off, which had 3 black wires, I'm guessing a hot wire, one coming from the light fixture and one going to the hallway. The new auto sensor switch has 4 wires 1-hot, 1-out to light fixture, 1-ground and 1- 3-way. Not using the three way.
Casper40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 07:47 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Core Lighting Controls #OS306U Auto sensor light


You mixed up which black wires went together. It seems like you have tied the hot and the switch leg together. If you investigate other receptacles or lights in the home, I bet you will find some that do not work.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Casper40 (04-13-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen Remodel LED Lighting Problems jimklug Electrical 2 07-02-2012 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.