Copper Wire From Old Phone Line - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2014, 06:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,354
Rewards Points: 780
Blog Entries: 5
Default

copper wire from old phone line


I'm sure this is nothing, but my daughter was worried.

I don't use a phone land line. One outlet I took off, then filled the hole with spray foam. I was just going to put a solid plastic cover over it but my daughter sees a little copper wire sticking out thru the hardened foam.

Is that anything dangerous?

Advertisement

Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 06:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

copper wire from old phone line


There is no voltage on a phone circuit when there is no phone service. Even if service it is at most a tingle when ringing. The rest of the time it about the same as a battery. Just don't touch your tongue to it.

Advertisement

Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Colbyt For This Useful Post:
Startingover (01-28-2014), ttech (01-28-2014)
Old 01-28-2014, 07:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

copper wire from old phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Colbyt View Post
There is no voltage on a phone circuit when there is no phone service. Even if service it is at most a tingle when ringing. The rest of the time it about the same as a battery. Just don't touch your tongue to it.
you are right on one count only.if service is disco'd at co,no voltage.if active,90 volts ac to ring,just try to hang on to that.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to oleguy74 For This Useful Post:
brric (01-28-2014), Startingover (01-28-2014)
Old 01-28-2014, 07:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,354
Rewards Points: 780
Blog Entries: 5
Default

copper wire from old phone line


ok thanks. I won't worry about it and will put the plastic cover over it.

It's behind a bed where no one will see it and this was the quickest way to cover it. This house had outlets all over the place. Most I did a proper repair with a patch kit.
Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Startingover For This Useful Post:
oh'mike (01-28-2014)
Old 01-28-2014, 10:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

copper wire from old phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74 View Post
you are right on one count only.if service is disco'd at co,no voltage.if active,90 volts ac to ring,just try to hang on to that.

With respect, I believe that is 90 volts DC. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telephone
Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 11:27 PM   #6
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

copper wire from old phone line


I'm pretty sure standard telephone voltage is 48 Volts DC. ringing current is around 90 volts AC Give or take
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
brric (01-29-2014)
Old 01-29-2014, 12:24 AM   #7
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,797
Rewards Points: 1,474
Default

copper wire from old phone line


Quote:
With respect, I believe that is 90 volts DC. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telephone
You might want to read the wiki article that you posted. The key sentence is:
"If the called party's line is available, the exchange sends an intermittent ringing signal (about 75 volts alternating current (AC) in North America and UK and 60 volts in Germany) to alert the called party to an incoming call."
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 08:31 AM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,349
Rewards Points: 3,492
Blog Entries: 4
Default

copper wire from old phone line


Don't believe everything you read on wiki. Anyone can edit it. Telephone ring voltage can vary anywhere from 90-130 volts AC.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (01-29-2014), plummen (01-30-2014)
Old 01-29-2014, 01:26 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

copper wire from old phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Don't believe everything you read on wiki. Anyone can edit it. Telephone ring voltage can vary anywhere from 90-130 volts AC.

I don't. I also stand corrected regarding the voltage. You will find that I always admit it when I find myself to be wrong.


I remained convinced that there is not enough amperage to do any harm. It would not be low voltage wiring if there was a safety issue.
Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 02:13 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 91
Rewards Points: 75
Default

copper wire from old phone line


Just trying to recall ... the jacks have 4 wires. One set of 2 (black wire and a yellow wire) is the functioning line (when you subscribe to telephone service). The other set (red, black) is 'dead' even with service but is activated when you want a second line (for a 2nd phone or a fax machine).
RocketGal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 02:51 PM   #11
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,797
Rewards Points: 1,474
Default

copper wire from old phone line


pair 1 was red and green, with red being the ring and green was the tip.

Pair 2 was your black and yellow. Yellow ring and black tip.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
RocketGal (01-30-2014)
Old 01-30-2014, 11:25 AM   #12
Member
 
dmclean701's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 152
Default

copper wire from old phone line


Not to put to fine a point on it, but I believe 48 volts DC is the "on hook" voltage, it drops when off hook. Yes the ringing voltage will get your attention.
dmclean701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 11:39 AM   #13
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

copper wire from old phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Colbyt View Post
There is no voltage on a phone circuit when there is no phone service. Even if service it is at most a tingle when ringing. The rest of the time it about the same as a battery. Just don't touch your tongue to it.
You might want to check the acual voltage sometime on a working phone line, it can and will boot the boot to ya.
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 05:38 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 76
Rewards Points: 75
Default

copper wire from old phone line


I don't make a practice of it but I might made contact a time the ringer voltage a time or few. I can't repeat what I said in family friendly place. Almost as much fun as a spark plug wire.
Colbyt is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Colbyt For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-30-2014)
Old 01-30-2014, 05:51 PM   #15
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

copper wire from old phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Colbyt View Post
I don't make a practice of it but I might made contact a time the ringer voltage a time or few. I can't repeat what I said in family friendly place. Almost as much fun as a spark plug wire.
I remember stripping some phone wires when I was a kid using my teeth.
Sitting on top of a walk in beer cooler we just finished building at a gas station, I had done it plenty of times before but apparently somebody was calling that time! Hahaha

Advertisement

__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Copper Wire to Aluminum Wire StarStryker11 Electrical 3 12-21-2012 01:48 PM
Copper Pipe vs Copper Coil Tubing For Refrigerator Water Line kaalapurushha Plumbing 3 10-15-2012 09:59 PM
Badly corroded AC copper line miamicuse HVAC 19 06-30-2012 11:27 AM
Copper line for refrigerator being used as a ground... seannymurrs Plumbing 2 02-08-2011 10:11 AM
Phone wire repair - safety Joe F Electrical 15 02-13-2010 05:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts