Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-13-2006, 01:56 PM   #1

Share |

copper verses aluminum for 50 amp circuit

I would like to have a 50 amp outlet for an arc welder.I am currently wiring a garage with living space above.I have already pulled a #6-3 wire for the oven and I used aluminum,using advice from others,it's cheaper.Is it ok to use aluminum for the welder or should I use copper?My thought,not being a professional,is that the welder would draw more amps for a more extended period of time than a stove and possibly damage the aluminum.What are the pros and cons with copper verses aluminum besides the price?

wiggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2006, 02:50 PM   #2
Extreme DIY'r Adk's, NY

I'm no electrician, but I am an engineer. Resisitivity at room temp of alum. is 58% higher than copper. This means voltage drop and ampacity drop due to heat. I think the duty cycle might have an affect. And certainly the length of run. My gut feeling is that it would be ok, but...

I would contact the welder manu.

good luck

crecore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2006, 04:32 PM   #3

I am a professional electrician and beyond the service drop I would not install aluminum wire at all.

The pro is that it is cheeper, the con is you could burn your house down. It as to do with how much the wire changes in size with changes in temperature. even the changes made from use. It also has to do with the type of connector that binds the wires at the ends.

I would wire the welder in copper and re-wire the oven as well.
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2006, 04:56 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwhite
..., the con is you could burn your house down.
I don't want to start a flame war, but as a broad statement this is a load of...you know what.