Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2012, 07:45 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

Copper SE-U 3/0 - where to find it?


Hello all,
I'm installing a 200A ATS and will need to replace the 4/0 AL SE-U running from the meter pan to load center. I was thinking of using 3/0 CU SE-U because the run is in a tight place with about 4 90 degree turns (roughly 7 - 8 feet in length end to end).

I was thinking that slightly smaller and a bit more flexible copper (albeit ridiculously expensive) would make installing this a bit more of a pleasure.

Running individual conductors would also be tough because of the tight area.

Problem is, no electrical supplier in my area has it or can even order it in.. I could understand why it is not stocked, but is it really that rare to use copper for a short service run?

I'm even having a hard time finding a place to buy it online. If anyone has any sources I can order it from, it would be appreciated. I could wrestle the aluminum in there and will do that if the copper is really that unattainable...

Thanks!

raybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 08:08 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Copper SE-U 3/0 - where to find it?


What the heck project are you doing that there's a 200a ats?

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 09:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Copper SE-U 3/0 - where to find it?


It's a service entrance rated switch, and I have a 200A service. I believe the generator puts out ~85amps (20KW) and the genset has a 100A breaker.

The setup powers the entire load center, but will load shed if/when needed. The ATS is packaged with the Generator, which is a Cummins Onan.

So with that explained, I need to remove the 4/0 AL SE-U feeding the load center and move it to the ATS, which means I need to replace it.. Utility power will be obviously shut down for this. I then need to run a feed back to the load center, and was planning to use 2" conduit with 3/0 CU individual conductors.

It would make my life easier to run 3/0 CU SE-U instead of 4/0 AL SE-U from the meter pan to the ATS because of the bends and twists once it enters the house to get it to the ATS.

I was simply wondering if there is a good online resource to buy about 8 feet of copper or if I shouldn't even bother if the hassle to find it is greater than wrestling with the 4/0 AL. I am also curious if anyone else sees the benefit to copper for a short and twisty service run such as this..
raybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 09:50 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Copper SE-U 3/0 - where to find it?


I prefer to work with compact aluminum.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jrclen For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (09-18-2012)
Old 09-17-2012, 10:16 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Copper SE-U 3/0 - where to find it?


I hardly ever see aluminum anymore. We always use copper so its easy to find here, but unless your close to the border that's useless lol.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 06:04 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

Copper SE-U 3/0 - where to find it?


Why 3/0???
2/0cu SEU is good for a residential 200A service. Even that might be hard to find in short lengths in some areas.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 06:14 AM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

Copper SE-U 3/0 - where to find it?


I also use 4/0 AL. SEU, SER type cable... its easy to work with in my honest opinion.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compression fitting with copper tubing for dishwasher DK75 Plumbing 4 04-27-2012 06:47 PM
Question about copper pipe agroom Plumbing 3 10-27-2011 02:18 PM
Copper pipe size question greymous Plumbing 18 01-30-2009 04:02 PM
is a US penny in scrap worth more than US$0.01 ? amakarevic Off Topic 9 10-25-2008 09:11 PM
copper strap around copper pipe? analogmusicman Plumbing 3 06-04-2008 10:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.