Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-22-2012, 11:59 AM   #1

Share |

copper clad aluminum

I've read post after post after thread searching for a definitive answer to my situation. I've called electrical contractors and each tell me something different. My mother bought a house in phoenix in say 2001. House was built in 1975ish. The home has copper clad aluminum wiring to all 15A and 20A circuits and straight aluminum for all larger circuits. Time to update the kitchen and bring it to code in the process. I am not an electrician, I am a carpenter of 15 years. What is the proper connection for CCA to CU?? Many definitive answers concerning AL to CU. Some say, Noalox in a regular wire nut and your good to go. Well regular wire nut says CU/CU only, still ok for copper clad? Others say Copalum, Allumiconn, Ideal 65's, well those are mainly used for CU/AL ,copper clad also?? I haven't found a single wire nut labeled CCA/CCA . Is copper clad aluminum .. copper? or aluminum? From what I read it has the similarities of both. Early 70's with the rising cost of copper and the problems associated with aluminum wire, copper clad was the viable alternative. I understand the receptacles should be CU/AL rated, what about the GFCI's? Obviously going to have to pigtail copper no? Please, just some clarification is all I'm asking. Thanks for your time.
CopperClad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 12:29 PM   #2
Master Electrician

copper clad aluminum

i honestly don't know the rule but why not use cu/al wire nuts anyways. Cover all your bases, for the cost of a few extra bucks you can have peace of mind.

edit
i just found this
110.14 Electrical Connections