Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2012, 10:16 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,871
Share |
Default

Cool new gadget receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by patented View Post
Yep, UL listed and they even have the good 'ol Tamper Resistant feature we have all come to "love"
"Love" indeed. I was so glad that when I built my house three years ago, I didn't have to put in TR receptacles. Or AFCI breakers except for bedroom circuits. Did get stuck with the useless "radon mitigation" though.

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:54 PM   #17
sweaty
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 297
Default

Cool new gadget receptacles?


Can I get one of these USB receptacles in a 20 amp?
sweaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 03:06 PM   #18
Chaos Engineer
 
Big N8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Coon Rapids MN
Posts: 183
Default

Cool new gadget receptacles?


Yes they make 20 amp USB receptacles
Big N8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 03:15 PM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,417
Default

Cool new gadget receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sweaty View Post
Can I get one of these USB receptacles in a 20 amp?
What do you have that has a 20 amp T-slot cord cap?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 06:54 AM   #20
sweaty
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 297
Default

Cool new gadget receptacles?


When I use the vaccuum and electric leaf blower, I plug into a 20 amp circuit. I know I can use a 15 amp receptacle, but I like the visual indicator that it is a 20 amp circuit. Does anyone know where I can get one of these?

Last edited by sweaty; 10-27-2012 at 06:57 AM.
sweaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:31 AM   #21
Member
 
langless28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 166
Default

Cool new gadget receptacles?


i just got a 20a cooper wiring TR7746 via the internet and it looks pretty cool and well built. for installation it asks to select an appropriate sized box (2 boxes to select depending on whether you have the 15a or 20a version) so for the 20amp it says 20.3 cu-in box needs to be used (trade size is specified as 3-3/4"x 2-1/4"x 3-3/16") . do you think that factors in wire fill or does the device ITSELF need 20.3 cu-in?

langless28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pool deck cool deck chalking hammmer13 Building & Construction 5 12-01-2011 08:32 PM
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Rewiring - adding receptacles, paths to use RST Electrical 2 03-14-2010 02:29 PM
Maximum number of receptacles on 15 amp circuit flati Electrical 11 03-07-2010 08:08 AM
receptacles have no power, im at a loss reds_21 Electrical 3 10-05-2008 10:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.