Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-19-2008, 01:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Cooktop wiring code


Hello,

I have an under-the-counter refrigerator. Above it I want to install an electric cooktop. Does the code specify how much clearance must be between the appliances?

Thanks,
Eric
epudimott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 06:49 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Furd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Posts: 18
Default

Cooktop wiring code


National Electrical Code, no. Local building code, maybe. Appliance manufacturer, yes.

Most refrigerators want at least an inch of clearance all around for air circulation. Most drop-in cook tops have some reference that will be in the installation instructions.
Furd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 08:08 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

Cooktop wiring code


Quote:
Originally Posted by Furd View Post
National Electrical Code, no. Local building code, maybe. Appliance manufacturer, yes.

Most refrigerators want at least an inch of clearance all around for air circulation. Most drop-in cook tops have some reference that will be in the installation instructions.
I agree with Furd. You need to check the manufacturers instructions for the particular models you want to use.

FWIW, I have never seen a cooktop and fridge installed this way - which doesn't mean you can't.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2008, 11:01 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Cooktop wiring code


As an inspector, when code doesn't drive any clearance requirements, I'd definately check the manufacturer's installation instructions to determine that minimum clearances have been met.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Wiring a 240v Delonghi cooktop cape45 Electrical 12 11-08-2007 02:38 PM
What's code for wiring distance from end of studs? Webguy64 Electrical 2 07-17-2007 05:58 AM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 01:47 PM
'Underground Wiring And Code. michaeltz Electrical 16 12-05-2005 07:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.