Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2010, 07:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Cooktop and Stand Alone Oven Wiring Replacing Existing Single Range/Stove Combination


Hi,

I am in the process of remodeling my kitchen.

The current kitchen has the typical oven/stove combination powered by a 3-prong plug on the floor. It is connected to #6 Aluminum wire (2-wire, Black, White and Bare). It is governed by a 50-AMP 220V breaker. I have no free slots in the breaker box. I do have full access to the wiring as the basement is unfinished.

We are upgrading the kitchen to a new cooktop and wall over (neither have been purchased yet), and I'm looking for general guidelines on how to change the wiring in the kitchen to accommodate the new setup.

My primary concern is "doing it right" - I don't want to cut corners.

Question 1: Do I need to re-run a new cable from the main panel? I have read on other forums that most new cooktops/ovens run 220V and 110V together and require 4-wire. I am concerned about splicing AL/CU together and have heard I should avoid this, hence why I am thinking that a new wire will need to be run.

Question 2: Do I need to run two independent circuits, or is it OK to run one wire to a junction box and then split off to the cooktop and oven? It would be advantageous for me to do this since the breaker panel is not close to the kitchen.

Question 3: Right now, I have #6 Aluminum wire and a 50 amp breaker. What method should I use to size the breaker/wire required for the oven and cooktop together if this is allowed?

I have a good understanding of basic wiring principles and have done a good bit of 110v wiring in my home. This is only my second foray into 220v and the first time I have worked on existing 220v wiring.

Thanks for the help!

ffauth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 07:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Cooktop and Stand Alone Oven Wiring Replacing Existing Single Range/Stove Combination


Where are you located ?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 07:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2
Default

Cooktop and Stand Alone Oven Wiring Replacing Existing Single Range/Stove Combination


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Where are you located ?
Hi Scuba_Dave,

I'm in Maryland and I've updated my profile.

I believe we are governed by the NEC 2005.

Thanks,
Fred
ffauth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 09:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Cooktop and Stand Alone Oven Wiring Replacing Existing Single Range/Stove Combination


I would run a new 4 wire feed for the stove to bring it up to date
In most cases seperate cooktop/oven can be fed by the same circuit
...split off as needed to each
Exception might be on a high end system that pulls a lot of power

Sizing would depend upon power draw & Mfg requirements
Most are a 50a setup & can use #8 copper
I had some other runs to make & used #6 wire
....less $$, easier to buy a roll of #6 for what I was doing
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
220v, aluminum, cooktop, oven, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.